Become a Patron!

0.4 ohm coil, but output is 0.45 ohm

Hi!

So I'm new to vaping and I cannot for the life of me find the answer to this, and mostly, I get topics about high ohm vaping.

I bought a Lite 60, haven't made any changes, and the coil is 0.4 ohm. When I vape lately though (after a week), the display tells me I'm up at 0.45 ohm. I vape at 42W. From what I can gather from this http://metro.co.uk/2017/01/23/what-is-ohms-law-and-how-can-it-keep-your-vape-from-exploding-6400343/ and then this http://www.myvaporstore.com/ohms-calculator-for-vape-safety-a/292.htm, I'm safe. The article tells me that the amps shouldn't be higher than the capacity of the battery - but I have no idea what the capacity of the battery is. When calculating 0.4 ohm to 42W, I get ~10 amps in the calculator. When I calculate 0.45 ohm, I get 9 amps in the calculator.

1) ..so that should mean I'm safer than if I land at 0.4 ohms.. or does it?
2) Where does the coil come in to play here? It says 0.4 ohms right on the coil...

Anyone with insights in laymans terms, or just a confirmation of what I've figured so far?

xpen

Bronze Contributor
Member For 3 Years
Member For 2 Years
Welcome to the VU!
Increased coil resistance can be due to a number of factors, including loose contact in the atomizer itself and/or between mod and atomizer, and 'crud' buildup on the coil - among other things
As you've mentioned, higher resistance for the same watts means fewer ampere flowing, so if it didn't blow up before I don't see why it should now
Vape on!

PS your mod seems able to run coils from 0.15 ohm upwards, thus 0.4+ ohm should definitely qualify as safe for it (60W at 0.15 ohm would mean some 20A being pulled from the battery)

Last edited:
Welcome to the VU!
Increased coil resistance can be due to a number of factors, including loose contact in the atomizer itself and/or between mod and atomizer, and 'crud' buildup on the coil - among other things