Become a Patron!

Any freshwater fishtank enthusiasts here?

cmoorewv

Silver Contributor
Member For 4 Years
Member For 3 Years
Member For 2 Years
Member For 1 Year
I've been somewhat MIA here lately. Been busy, blah blah blah...LOL. Part of what has me otherwise occupied is that I've been trying to set up 2 new 75 gallon freshwater tanks. I have one established 55 gallon tank with cory cats and rosy barbs and another 20 long tank with a female betta. Both planted tanks. One of my 75 gallon tanks will house African cichlids, but it's currently in the beginning stages of the fishless cycling process. The other 75 gallon is still not set up. I'm not sure what's going in it. Any African cichlid keepers here? I'm pretty well versed in barbs, but a total newbie with cichlids. I'm looking for a mix of colorful fairly low to medium aggressive species. Peacocks have been suggested as well as some Auclonara species. Hopefully I didn't mangle that spelling...anyway, advice appreciated.

anavidfan

Gold Contributor
Member For 4 Years
Member For 3 Years
AFRICANs are my favorite. Im so happy for you.

I kept 4 50 gallon tanks of Africans for years. Best little shits ever. I lovingly call them shits, because they can be horrible to keep for the squeamish.

Peacocks are some of the less aggressive and some of most stunning. Keeping them happy is a balance of controlled crowding and filtration galore.

Mixing it up as far as their environment is a must too. They are very territorial as you know, but man they are fun to care for and they will breed and breed prolifically.

If you need help Id be glad to help if I can. Give them toys ( floating non-toxic objects, floating plants, romaine or spinach ) and if they really misbehave, take all the rocks out for a few minutes and rearrange. That usually takes the top fish out of his or her high horse.

IM so jealous. I had family issues and was forced to re-home them. I kept all my filters and gear, because I will keep them again.