Arctic Fox....Why?

Discussion in 'Regulated (Voltage / Wattage / 3.7v/ Temp Control)' started by Angrygod50, Apr 15, 2017.

  1. Angrygod50

    Angrygod50 Gold Contributor Member For 1 Year

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2015
    Messages:
    1,649
    Because it makes an ok Joyetech chipped TC mod a good TC mod.
    RX200S SS316L TCR
    RX200S.jpg
    Evic Mini SS316L TCR
    Evic Mini.jpg
    For comparison Hotcig DNA200 SS316L TCR
    Hotcig DNA 200.JPG
    It's no DNA ↑ but makes a decent TC mod out of any Joytech mod. I also have it on An Eleaf TC200W, and a Pico with similar results. Definitely worth doing and it adds pre-heat to power mode.
    The red is the temp curve. http://nfeteam.org/

    EDIT: I should mention as the coil dried out there was no pulsing.
     
    Last edited: Apr 15, 2017
  2. xpen

    xpen Bronze Contributor Member For 1 Year

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2016
    Messages:
    176
    Agree, I've already moved all my compatible mods (istick TC 100W, Pico 75W, Cuboid, VTC mini) to AF
    I still don't use TC - just some testing from time to time, but meh - but the customizable power curves alone are worth the change
    Looking forward to wismec predator support, which is already mentioned in the developer log as near
     
    change2vape and Angrygod50 like this.
  3. gakudzu

    gakudzu Gold Contributor

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2016
    Messages:
    2,380
    Give a holler if anyone does this for SMOK.
     
    fraleywp likes this.
  4. fraleywp

    fraleywp Silver Contributor

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2017
    Messages:
    1,372
    Or ijoy
     
  5. skt239

    skt239 VU Donator Gold Contributor Member For 1 Year

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2015
    Messages:
    4,669
    I've been meaning to try it out for a while. IMO, the SS TC on my evic VTC mini works great. Like the op said, it's no DNA but definitely acceptable. Does this work for the RX200? The TC on my
    RX has always been kinda wonkey, especially with fancy builds. Despite the fact that the RX is wired with pipe cleaners and uses a pebble for its 510, I still love it and better tc would be a bonus.
     
  6. Angrygod50

    Angrygod50 Gold Contributor Member For 1 Year

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2015
    Messages:
    1,649
    It works for most Joyetech chipped mods. There's a list on the site I posted (scroll down) but there may be others also.I found a longer list someplace.
     
    skt239 likes this.
  7. XEVU

    XEVU Equal Opportunity Offender VU Donator Silver Contributor

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    877
    I use it on my wismec RX 2/3

    sent from craptastic taptalk
     
    skt239 likes this.
  8. Angrygod50

    Angrygod50 Gold Contributor Member For 1 Year

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2015
    Messages:
    1,649
    Here's a list from there forum.

    Joyetech:

    • eVic VTC Mini
    • eVic VTC Dual
    • eVic VTwo Mini
    • eVic VTwo
    • eVic AIO
    • eVic Basic
    • eGrip II / Light
    • Cuboid Mini
    • Cuboid
    • Cuboid 200
    Wismec:
    • Presa TC75W
    • Presa TC100W
    • Reuleaux RX75
    • Reuleaux RXmini
    • Reuleaux RX200
    • Reuleaux RX200S
    • Reuleaux RX2/3
    • Reuleaux RX300
    • VF Lite
    • VF Stout
    • VF Classic
    • BV Centurion
    • La Petite Box
    Eleaf:
    • Aster
    • iStick Pico 75W
    • iStick Pico Mega 80W
    • iStick Pico Dual
    • iStick TC100W
    • iStick TC200W
    • iStick iPower 80W
     
    skt239, xpen and XEVU like this.
  9. Angrygod50

    Angrygod50 Gold Contributor Member For 1 Year

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2015
    Messages:
    1,649
    [​IMG] [​IMG]

    [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]

    Here's some screen shots and there's a clock also.
     
    Raymcconn and Johnnytraveler like this.
  10. skt239

    skt239 VU Donator Gold Contributor Member For 1 Year

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2015
    Messages:
    4,669
    Angrygod50 likes this.
  11. XEVU

    XEVU Equal Opportunity Offender VU Donator Silver Contributor

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    877
    The clock sucks balls tho. You can't set it when changing batteries. You have to reconnect to pc. It syncs with the pc clock.
    There is no comparison between the fox functionality and the standard tho. I won't use anything but arctic fox.

    sent from craptastic taptalk
     
  12. Giraut

    Giraut Gold Contributor Member For 3 Years

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2014
    Messages:
    1,923
    Oh man, would that be great or what... I so need my GX350 running AF!
     
    gakudzu likes this.
  13. XEVU

    XEVU Equal Opportunity Offender VU Donator Silver Contributor

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    877
    LoL. Plug it in and give it a try. The worst thing that can happen is no arctic fox.

    sent from craptastic taptalk
     
  14. Johnnytraveler

    Johnnytraveler Silver Contributor

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2016
    Messages:
    1,064
    installed on my rx200s, presa 100 and evic vtwo mini. now to play with tc and preheat.

    thanks dude
     
    Last edited: Apr 18, 2017
    Angrygod50 and XEVU like this.
  15. conanthewarrior

    conanthewarrior Gold Contributor Member For 2 Years

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    May 14, 2015
    Messages:
    3,123
    YES!!! It is finally working for me, I reinstalled virtual box on my mac, and have just installed it on my Evic VTC mini to test out.

    I am very, very impressed with this. I am going to install it on all my Joyetech mods. I have only had a quick play with Arctic fox and device monitor, but SS 316L is working well, and it is very Escribe like. I think with this software the Joyetech mods are now the best value for money mods out there.

    All they need now is a different 510, and I think they would be up there with the best mods available (Obviosly they don't perform as smoothly as a DNA200 or similar, but come on, for the price they are fantastic).
     
    Angrygod50 likes this.
  16. Johnnytraveler

    Johnnytraveler Silver Contributor

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2016
    Messages:
    1,064
    Not measured, but it sure seems like battery life is improved. Anyone else?
     
  17. conanthewarrior

    conanthewarrior Gold Contributor Member For 2 Years

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    May 14, 2015
    Messages:
    3,123
    I haven't had it on long enough to find out yet, I will check the Evic VTC mini though and see if there is any improvement.

    My other Joyetech mods tend to get used along with other mods so I am unsure how long exactly the battery life is on each mod. I have quite a few going at the same time, so I don't have to change batteries often.

    How are most of you using the preheat, with which option? I went for absolute as this seemed to make the most sense, inputting the actual preheat power instead of a percentage of your current power setting.

    Now I have this installed, I am looking at my Evolv mods and thinking. I am happy with them, for sure, but with arctic fox the Joyetech mods are a brilliant alternative. Kind of like a budget Evolv mod :)
     
    ShowerHead and Johnnytraveler like this.
  18. Angrygod50

    Angrygod50 Gold Contributor Member For 1 Year

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2015
    Messages:
    1,649
    I agree 100% I resisted putting it on because I was ok with my Joyetech mods but when I tried it on one mod I put it on all of them. It's like getting new mods for free.
     
    ShowerHead and conanthewarrior like this.
  19. Giraut

    Giraut Gold Contributor Member For 3 Years

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2014
    Messages:
    1,923
    As far as features go, I see no real differences between AF and DNA: I don't really care about skinning and themes, and the rest is of identical quality. AF even features a clock that DNA doesn't have, provided the mod has a RTC chip.

    So, yeah, AF is to DNA what Android is to iOS: same features or better for cheaper, and it's open-source.
     
  20. conanthewarrior

    conanthewarrior Gold Contributor Member For 2 Years

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    May 14, 2015
    Messages:
    3,123
    I agree with you here fully, it does feel like I have just got some brand new mods for free! I did hear about it a while ago, but couldn't install it where I was on a Mac. I am really glad I got round to it though, I feel like I have been missing out.

    It is a very close copy, and I am very happy with it. I do love my Evolv mods still though. It is similar to Android Vs iOS.
     
  21. Raymcconn

    Raymcconn Bronze Contributor

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2017
    Messages:
    324
    I have been thinking about installing on the Pico, after a few weeks of looking and reading I have decided to do it his weekend. Then if all goes well I will install on my Reuleaux RX2/3. Now I just need everyone to leave me alone so I have the time.
     
    Johnnytraveler likes this.
  22. conanthewarrior

    conanthewarrior Gold Contributor Member For 2 Years

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    May 14, 2015
    Messages:
    3,123
    It only takes a few minutes to do, if you don't need to install any custom wire types it will all be done within 10 minutes :).

    I think it will be much better for the RX 2/3 than the Pico, actually I am going to put it on my RX 2/3 now- that has gone unused for a long time, I think now it will get a lot more use.
     
    Raymcconn likes this.
  23. Raymcconn

    Raymcconn Bronze Contributor

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2017
    Messages:
    324
    I was under the impression it made the TC on the Pico much more consistent. I don't plan on leaving it on TC often but like to mess around once in a while.
     
  24. conanthewarrior

    conanthewarrior Gold Contributor Member For 2 Years

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    May 14, 2015
    Messages:
    3,123
    I find the Pico to be a good little mod for TC already, but with Arctic fox it would be like a budget DNA75 :)

    Since my last message, I have already installed it on my RX 2/3. Happy with the firmware, not with the mod. I am using a 0.5 coil with a Uwell rafale, reading 0.55. It will only output a max of 54W, and that is at its peak, it settles around 51-52W.

    It is nearing the voltage limit of 6V, but that is after around 60W, but it only seems to be able to output around 5.4-5.5V maximum in dual 18650 mode- which is terrible considering it is hardly straining the batteries to output that power. The board must be very, very inefficient.
     
    Raymcconn likes this.
  25. Angrygod50

    Angrygod50 Gold Contributor Member For 1 Year

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2015
    Messages:
    1,649
    I have it on a Pico and it works very well. SS 316L image
    Pico.jpg
     
    conanthewarrior and Raymcconn like this.
  26. Raymcconn

    Raymcconn Bronze Contributor

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2017
    Messages:
    324
    Well this doesn't make me too happy, good thing I really paid almost nothing for it. Either way I still tend to like it better than the alien, I should have my IPV8 shortly and when I do the RX2/3 probably will be put up. My Pico is always in my daily rotation, haven't found anything to replace that yet.
     
  27. Giraut

    Giraut Gold Contributor Member For 3 Years

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2014
    Messages:
    1,923
    The Pico does TC well out of the box (with Ni200 anyway). I find AF doesn't do a better job in that particular department, but the profiles are soooo convenient! Just for that, AF is worth it.

    As for my Reuleaux RX300, the regular firmware does give me burnt tastes in TC sometimes, but AF doesn't. So again it's better.
     
    Raymcconn likes this.
  28. SirRichardRear

    SirRichardRear AKA Anthony Vapes on Youtube VU Donator Diamond Contributor Member For 1 Year Reviewer

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2016
    Messages:
    10,864
    the only issue i have with using escribe and arctic fox as a baseline is it isn't going to be accurate. it's reporting the info the chip is providing. it'll show you how smooth the firing is but that's about it.

    with that said, there is a huge difference in using arctic fox over the factory software in temp control performance. huge difference. night and day. it takes a passible performance and makes it almost as good as the top tier guys. IIRC it improved the power mode too. I'm doing a re-review of the primo using arctic fox (so i'ts kinda like an arctic fox review basically) when i'm done i'll post up the power charts here
     
  29. Angrygod50

    Angrygod50 Gold Contributor Member For 1 Year

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2015
    Messages:
    1,649
    You can set it on the mod. in the menu under settings scroll to RTC (real time clock) in the sub menu you can set the clock. It's a 24hr clock not 12hr.
     
    XEVU likes this.
  30. Johnnytraveler

    Johnnytraveler Silver Contributor

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2016
    Messages:
    1,064
    Can I just turn off the clock? I don't need a clock on my mod
     
  31. conanthewarrior

    conanthewarrior Gold Contributor Member For 2 Years

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    May 14, 2015
    Messages:
    3,123
    I got mine for free as well from Gearbest to review, so am not too disappointed. I wouldn't be too happy if I had bought it though at full retail price and it was my only mod though.

    I have an Alien too, and a IPV8 (both also free lol) and I really do like the IPV8 a lot. The pico is a lovely little mod, I payed for the Pico and use it a lot in comparison to some other mods. I don't know what to recommend to replace the Pico, but I am certain you will like the IPV8 a lot.

    That is very true. I look forward to seeing your results of the tests of Arctic fox. I have only put it on the Evic VTC mini and the RX 2/3 so far, but it will be going on all my mods that support it, I am very pleased so far.

    How do you do your tests for the power charts if you don't mind me asking?
     
    riotz974 and SirRichardRear like this.
  32. conanthewarrior

    conanthewarrior Gold Contributor Member For 2 Years

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    May 14, 2015
    Messages:
    3,123
    On the mods I have put Arctic fox on, the clock is off by default. You have to go into the menu to turn it on, so you don't have to use it :)
     
    Angrygod50 and Johnnytraveler like this.
  33. Angrygod50

    Angrygod50 Gold Contributor Member For 1 Year

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2015
    Messages:
    1,649
    Menu - screen - clock- main - off and saver - off Just look around the menus everything is there.
     
    Johnnytraveler likes this.
  34. Angrygod50

    Angrygod50 Gold Contributor Member For 1 Year

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2015
    Messages:
    1,649
    Very basic how to enter menu and change settings.
    Fire + up = menu
    up or down to scroll
    fire to open the sub menu
    scroll to item
    fire to change value
    It's the same for both large and small screen mods, play around as long as you saved your configuration you can always reload it if you mess something up.
     
    conanthewarrior and Raymcconn like this.
  35. Raymcconn

    Raymcconn Bronze Contributor

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2017
    Messages:
    324
    I am not looking to replace the Pico yet. I think it will be in my rotation for a long time. I have even thought about picking up one or two more. They are so cheap now. As far as the IPV8, I have seen many good things about it and the chip set. The IPV8 and the G2 are on my must get soon list. I will go from there.
     
    conanthewarrior likes this.
  36. Angrygod50

    Angrygod50 Gold Contributor Member For 1 Year

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2015
    Messages:
    1,649
    I agree, I love the Pico it's the first mod I grab as I head out the door. Very tempted to get spares. Pico + Baby Beast or Tsunami and I'm happy.
     
    conanthewarrior and Raymcconn like this.
  37. Raymcconn

    Raymcconn Bronze Contributor

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2017
    Messages:
    324
    That is one thing I do need to get for it. A different 22mm RDA or a few. Looking at a Hadaly for it. Are the clones OK? If I have to use a tank I am using my Super mini tank on it. I tend to prefer it over my baby beast. Less head aches and no coil issues (at the moment).
     
  38. Angrygod50

    Angrygod50 Gold Contributor Member For 1 Year

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2015
    Messages:
    1,649
    Never used that RDA other than the Tsunami's I have several older Magma's that I took a drill press to, love the flavor. I have a few others but these get used the most. SS316L all the way around.
     
  39. SirRichardRear

    SirRichardRear AKA Anthony Vapes on Youtube VU Donator Diamond Contributor Member For 1 Year Reviewer

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2016
    Messages:
    10,864
    I use an oscilloscope

    Sent from my SM-G935V using Tapatalk
     
    conanthewarrior likes this.
  40. Raymcconn

    Raymcconn Bronze Contributor

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2017
    Messages:
    324
    I do like my Tsunami 24, maybe I will get a 22mm one for the pico.
     
  41. SirRichardRear

    SirRichardRear AKA Anthony Vapes on Youtube VU Donator Diamond Contributor Member For 1 Year Reviewer

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2016
    Messages:
    10,864
    Check out the hatty as well. Very similar

    Sent from my SM-G935V using Tapatalk
     
    Raymcconn likes this.
  42. Raymcconn

    Raymcconn Bronze Contributor

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2017
    Messages:
    324
    That is a nice looking RDA. I think I am going to order one tonight. Thanks
     
    SirRichardRear likes this.
  43. SirRichardRear

    SirRichardRear AKA Anthony Vapes on Youtube VU Donator Diamond Contributor Member For 1 Year Reviewer

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2016
    Messages:
    10,864
    no problem. i got mine for like 10 bucks on vaporbeast sale.
     
    Raymcconn likes this.
  44. Raymcconn

    Raymcconn Bronze Contributor

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2017
    Messages:
    324
    I just found the 22mm Tsunami on Breezy for $10 and ordered one. After ordering the Hatty my need for 22mm RDA will be over. Wish everything was this easy. :cheers:
     
    Angrygod50 and SirRichardRear like this.
  45. SirRichardRear

    SirRichardRear AKA Anthony Vapes on Youtube VU Donator Diamond Contributor Member For 1 Year Reviewer

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2016
    Messages:
    10,864
    good shit!
     
  46. Raymcconn

    Raymcconn Bronze Contributor

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2017
    Messages:
    324
    OK, so I installed last night on the Pico. I do like it that is for sure. You can tell the difference right away with out any changes.
    I do have a question when it comes to TC, I see where the resistance should be or go. Do I manually enter it and then check lock box?
    I hope to get to mess with it some more today, that will depend on the grandkids and how they want to act I guess. LOL
     
  47. Angrygod50

    Angrygod50 Gold Contributor Member For 1 Year

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2015
    Messages:
    1,649
    I usually let the mod find it then lock it but I don't know if it need's to be locked. Some mods don't need it locked but I always lock mine even on my DNA mods. If you know what the build is you could enter it and lock it.

    EDIT: I haven't found any English videos or instructions so I'm just winging it.
     
    Last edited: Apr 22, 2017
    Johnnytraveler and Raymcconn like this.
  48. xpen

    xpen Bronze Contributor Member For 1 Year

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2016
    Messages:
    176
    I don't lock resistance with AF on my mods, the one time I've tried couldn't tell any difference
     
    Raymcconn likes this.
  49. Raymcconn

    Raymcconn Bronze Contributor

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2017
    Messages:
    324
    Thanks, As soon as I have a charged battery for it I will play some more.
    I also have not found any instructions, there are a lot of things that come up if googled. Playing around is a better way to learn anyway for me. Once I do it I have it. Also more fun. HA
     
    xpen and Angrygod50 like this.
  50. Johnnytraveler

    Johnnytraveler Silver Contributor

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2016
    Messages:
    1,064
    Battery life is amazing. My Presa 100 made it all day on a single 26650. From the time I left in the morning till bed time. I thought it was gonna make it through the night, but I got the low battery warning with about 20% left.
    Amazing.
     

Share This Page

Close This Message