Become a Patron!

Are we tasting the same thing?

Hello - I have been DIYing for 4/5 months. Still new. What I dont get is how subjective DIY juice is. It can be affected by so many different factors from the obvious to not so obvious:
1) The mixer
2) The ingredients - ok we use same flavors but PG, VG and nic are not same
3) How long its aged
4) Temperature
5) Airflow
6) Coil build
7) Age of coil - new coils and old taste different
8) What you have been eating, drinking, vaping - it seems to me juice tastes different when my mouth is fresh in the morning. After coffee and vaping for a few hours certain flavors diminish - as an example
9/ PG/VG ratios

There are probably a multitude of other factors. Its just my observation. I noticed that I can taste TPA strawberry ripe very clearly then need to change the coil and then the strawberry note is almost non existent and the Graham cracker is more clear, even though the coil and settings are the same, just the coil is new. Bought juices have so much flavoring and sugar that these differences don't seem as pronounced.

How do we discuss a juice when person A is using 80 VG /20 PG at 30 watts total open airflow vs person B with an RBA deck, 50 VG /50 PG closed airflow at 100 watts for example. The juice will taste totally different? Is this a fair assessment or is it just me?

Teresa P

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Senior Moderator
VU Donator
Diamond Contributor
Member For 4 Years
Is this a fair assessment or is it just me?
Nope, not just you. I've found that juices I absolutely loved when I first started vaping - with an eGo batt and ce4 - are purely nasty in current sub ohm tanks and regulated box mods. Very disappointing. What's more disappointing is that I've never been able to make any adjustments in wattage or coil build to make them taste like they used to.