Become a Patron!

Avocado 24 - Cotton Whicks Black Quickly - Help

Sean Di Rienzo

Member For 4 Years
Member For 3 Years
Member For 2 Years
Good evening all, thank you for clicking my thread.

I own an Avocado 24 that I absolutely adore. I use twisted SS and sometimes regular 24guage Kanthal. I usually run anywhere from .3 - .7 ohms on a single coil. I pretty much stick to 15-20 watts at all times and dont go outside that range.

I use Ko Gen Do Japanese Cotton for my wicks.

My largest issue is that my wicks blacken rather quickly, usually within a day or two they darken significantly. After about a week they are a black mess and I have to clean the coil / deck and then rewick.

I don't ever get dry hits, but my flavour degrades as the wick blackens.
I've little experience with RDTA'S and used to keep the wicks in my Magma RDA for much longer.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Last edited:

xpen

Bronze Contributor
Member For 3 Years
Member For 2 Years
Hi
I used to have the same problem, then I've increased the diameter of the coil and now it lasts noticeably longer.
For the most part I use Kanthal 26G, 6-7 wraps on a 4mm drill bit for some 1-1.2 ohm, 30+ W
This is a coil I've been using daily for more than one week
uploadfromtaptalk1498200766591.jpg
Obviously if you use dark/sweet/organic tobacco liquids your result may be different, but I'm sure you'll see some benefit from a wider coil

Sean Di Rienzo

Member For 4 Years
Member For 3 Years
Member For 2 Years
I think it is my juice choice. I use nothing but 50/50 pg/vg vanilla custard that I make. 4mg/ml at 15% capella vanilla custard total flavour volume. Its slightly yellow ish, a caramel like colour. I suppose the more juice that goes through the wicks the darker they become, and the possible caramelisation of sugars or other compounds.