Become a Patron!

Avoiding battery care buffunery

Hey what's up so I'm fairly new to mech mods and I basically just a have some simple questions I'm using the athena mod and got the zion rda running .28 ohms now the place I went to I was explained everything but I forgot to ask something for battery understanding if I use my mod all day and the battery starts to lose its charge what risk am I taking because I hear about battery venting and from what it sounds like is if I'm firing it and the battery is weak is that risking an explosion? Because your trying to make the battery push more power than it can handle because of the low charge thanks in advance I'm sorry if anything sounds stupid I'm just trying to avoid any incidents

r055co

VU Donator
Platinum Contributor
Member For 4 Years
The danger is if you go below 3V for with battery sag along with voltage drop you may drop below 2.5V which the damage done to the battery you're fucked. Just be safe and don't run the battery below 3.5V or 3.6V.

For Newby's on Mech's read this and if you're not willing to abide or comprehend it stick with Regulated Mod's -

1. Ohm's law, http://www.steam-engine.org/ makes it easy and there's even an app on it for Android
2. Batteries! you MUST take good care of your batteries and know them!!!!!!!!
a. Avoid garbage batteries like eFest who rewrap rejects with grossly inflated amp ratings. Stick with authentic LG, Sony or Samsung from reputable (not ebay or amazon) sources, great places to get authentic are from
http://liionwholesale.com/
https://www.imrbatteries.com/
b. Stick well within Continuous Discharge Rate (CDR) Not the "pulse"
c. Keep up to date with what Mooch tests and battery ratings, follow his posts on Facebook and his Blog
d. In Mod's with multipule batteries, marry them.
e. Get some battery wraps, they're cheap and easy to re-wrap batteries. Any nicks,tears or what ever don't be stupid and just re-wrap.