Become a Patron!

Batteries and Charging

Cordell42

Member For 1 Year
Just picked up the new Geekvape Aegis legend 200 watts. It takes 2 18650s. The guy at the vape shop gave me 2 Samsung 25r 2500mah. Been charging them wrong for a couple of days( didn't read charger instructions right) so I changed the voltage, now it charges at 3.7 volts. But now the charger (Nitecore i2) says the batteries are fully charged. But my mod says they are only about 60% charged. Did I damage my batts? Do I need to get different batts? Would it hurt to put 18650s that are a higher mah in the mod? Sorry I'm new to mod vapes

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

SteveS45

Diamond Contributor
ECF Refugee
Member For 5 Years
Been charging them wrong for a couple of days( didn't read charger instructions right) so I changed the voltage, now it charges at 3.7 volts.

Exactly how did you charge the batteries wrong?

SteveS45

Diamond Contributor
ECF Refugee
Member For 5 Years
4.2V is a fully charged 18650. What charger are you using? Never mind I haven't had enough coffee yet I see it says a Nitecore I2

Cordell42

Member For 1 Year
4.2V is a fully charged 18650. What charger are you using? Never mind I haven't had enough coffee yet I see it says a Nitecore I2

Could I pick up two 18650s with 3000 mah? They would last longer?

Mattp169

Platinum Contributor
Vape Media
Member For 5 Years
ok im winging it with your charger
its should be charging to 4.2V that is full charge on a 18650 battery
the 25rs are a good battery
yes you can use any 18650 battery you want BUT you should really only be using good ones form a name brand (samsung,song,LG)

my personal opinion from first to last to get safest and longest lasting
sony VTC5a
Sony VTC6
Samsung 30q
lg hg2

I use some 25rs but they do not last as long as the ones I listed above. All but the VTc5a are 3000mah batteries
testing has shown though the VTC5a under many conditions will last about as long as most 3000mah batteries