Become a Patron!

Battery help? What to get for a Smok ACE?

Fattlestar

Bronze Contributor
Member For 4 Years
Member For 3 Years
Member For 2 Years
Member For 1 Year
Member For 5 Years
Got an ACE on the way, pretty cheap regulated tube mod, but I've never used a replaceable battery mod before. I know I need a couple of 18650 batteries and a charger, but I'm confused on what to get. I need a cheap solution here, they don't have to be top of the line batteries - they just need to work (value shopping, decent quality for decent price would be best here).

There are a dizzying array of 18650s out there. No idea what I'm looking at as I browse. Any help would be appreciated, especially if there are any good deals right now. I need specifics though - since I don't know what I'm doing here!

Fattlestar

Bronze Contributor
Member For 4 Years
Member For 3 Years
Member For 2 Years
Member For 1 Year
Member For 5 Years
Like, is this what I'll need?

2x Keeppower IMR 18650 2500mAh 35A High Drain Rechargeable Battery - BUTTON TOP
$_57.JPG

Lefty

Silver Contributor
Member For 4 Years
Member For 3 Years
Member For 2 Years
Member For 1 Year
Member For 5 Years
It will take either button top or flat top. It needs to be an unprotected battery, the tubes for the Ace and the SID are pretty snug so a protected battery wouldn't fit and the Ace supplies it's own protection through the chip . The KeepPower pictured is more than sufficient. At 20 amps and IMR chemistry it's also suitable to use in a mech mod. Stay away from batteries with fire in the name. While IMR or hybrid high drain batteries aren't absolutely required they are safer and will give you more flexibility in rotating batteries if you later purchase a mech or higher powered regulated device and they are not significantly more expensive. Also, if you do get button tops, many come sealed in a clear wrapper in addition to the regular battery wrap. They won't fit in the tube with the extra wrapper still on there.

Fattlestar