1. VAPING UNDERGROUND VAPE BANDS ARE NOW AVAILABLE!
    CLICK HERE TO GET YOURS

Been using my friends Wismec GEN3 and........

Discussion in 'Regulated (Voltage / Wattage / 3.7v/ Temp Control)' started by Psychobunny, Aug 30, 2017.

  1. Psychobunny

    Psychobunny Bronze Contributor

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2017
    Messages:
    464
    My friend is traveling on business and left me his GEN3 for a week, I have been using the hell
    out of it, and even taking it to work with me. I have used every tank and RDA I own on it.....

    I have to say, I really LOVE this damn thing....

    I know I have said some really nasty things about Wismec and Joytech here on the forum, but
    I think they have really cleaned up their act with this one.

    These things are selling out everywhere, it's a very hot MOD right now.

    Soooo, I took advantage of a 25% off coupon I had and went and ordered one..... :eek:

    If I end up with another paperweight, I will be pissed, but I am giving Wismec one
    more chance......
     
  2. Johnnytraveler

    Johnnytraveler Gold Contributor Member For 2 Years

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2016
    Messages:
    1,776
    That's awesome. Let's hope they have turned the corner on build quality.
    I have always love their designs. Bought 3 Wismec's. So I hope they are willing to build quality products as i do like the g3 too. Now I will wait even longer to get more feed back.
    Let us know how it holds up.
     
    expat42451, Letitia9 and Psychobunny like this.
  3. Psychobunny

    Psychobunny Bronze Contributor

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2017
    Messages:
    464

    Thanks.. I should actually get it today.. been using my RX200s daily w/o problems, as long as I use a shim under the tank/RDA, if I forget, it wont even fire sometimes... the board on the 200s acts a bit wonky sometimes too, but it doesn't interfere with my vaping.
    I really love the way this looks, the weight and hand feel.. and I love that neon green color on the gen3.... :)
     
    expat42451 and Johnnytraveler like this.
  4. iVape524

    iVape524 Member For 2 Years

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2016
    Messages:
    134
    Had mine for over a month now many different tanks and haven’t had any issues **knocks on wood**
     
    EMusic, expat42451, Letitia9 and 2 others like this.
  5. Psychobunny

    Psychobunny Bronze Contributor

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2017
    Messages:
    464

    That's what I like to hear... awesome :)
     
    expat42451 and Johnnytraveler like this.
  6. Psychobunny

    Psychobunny Bronze Contributor

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2017
    Messages:
    464
    Just got it today.. Dont have to use my friend's anymore.. but I bought him a bottle of his favorite juice for letting me use it... :)
     
    Johnnytraveler, expat42451 and geoffd like this.
  7. expat42451

    expat42451 Member For 1 Year

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2017
    Messages:
    75
    This is excellent to hear. I ordered one today as well along with batteries and a Nitecore charger. Been vaping RDA's for a little over a year and have a bunch of single battery mods that limit my coil building because of resistance. I also am looking forward to the Gen 3. Good luck to us all.

    Anyone on this thread using Arctic Fox firmware?
     
    David Wolf and Psychobunny like this.
  8. skt239

    skt239 VU Donator Platinum Contributor Member For 3 Years

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2015
    Messages:
    6,350
    If you want to ruin the RX for yourself (and possibly vaping in general) there is a multi page bitch-fest regarding the RX3 and it's issues somewhere around here.
     
    Psychobunny and expat42451 like this.
  9. expat42451

    expat42451 Member For 1 Year

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2017
    Messages:
    75
    I have seen it. Where I live in Ecuador its pretty difficult to get anything here. My choices were the RX3, the RX 300 or the Vaporesso Revenger. I can solder a ground wire from the 510 socket to the circuit board if its necessary. What decided the RX3 was ArcticFox as an alternative. I agree there is some bad press on Wismec but I am willing to take the chance.
     
    Johnnytraveler likes this.
  10. skt239

    skt239 VU Donator Platinum Contributor Member For 3 Years

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2015
    Messages:
    6,350
    I held the RX3 in a local shop and loved it. Had they not been asking $79.00 for the kit, it would have came home with me. I'm not worried about TC, that's for my DNA and Yihi mods but artic fox is a plus. I say get one especially if you can fix it.
     
    David Wolf, Eskie and expat42451 like this.
  11. Johnnytraveler

    Johnnytraveler Gold Contributor Member For 2 Years

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2016
    Messages:
    1,776
    Yeah I use it. It's definitely better than the stock firmware. The pre-heat and power curve feature is awesome.
     
    David Wolf, Raymcconn and expat42451 like this.
  12. expat42451

    expat42451 Member For 1 Year

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2017
    Messages:
    75
    skt239 & johnnytraveler
    Thanks for the comments. After using single battery mods for a year with crap battery life and garbage or no TC I am looking forward to using the power curve feature on Arctic Fox. Here, the mod, no tank..... and 3 Samsung 25 R's were $115. Ya I know. Since I dont smoke cigarettes any longer and since Lark costs $6 a pack at a gas station in Ecuador, lets see, thats 20 packs of Lark. Not including the price of the RTA's either the Smok TFV12, the Kylin or my Uwell D2. I doubt I'll use my Serpent Alto on it, that is my travel rig and stays on a really OLD Cloupor Mini. So yeah I am looking forward to the mod. Course after this one I probably will want another 2 or 3 battery mod...... doesnt end does it?
     
    Last edited: Aug 30, 2017
    David Wolf and Johnnytraveler like this.
  13. Johnnytraveler

    Johnnytraveler Gold Contributor Member For 2 Years

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2016
    Messages:
    1,776
    Dude. I feel your pain. I work in Vietnam where I have to pay a 40% customs fee on my orders. Worse, they consider shipping cost as part of the total. So I have to pay a 40% tax of shipping fees. Brilliant!

    Good luck with your gen3. Let us know how it holds up. I don't follow reviewers and depend on fellow users for feedback on what works and last.
     
    David Wolf and expat42451 like this.
  14. expat42451

    expat42451 Member For 1 Year

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2017
    Messages:
    75
    johnnytraveler

    Completely understand the crap. Ecuador taxes, like Vietnam sounds like....not only the price of anything but shipping as well....same garbage......
    I read the poison thread about the 510 not being fixed and all of the comments after the guy's evaluation. I am not going to comment on any of that only wonder why in a thread somewhere there is the hostility. There are better things to be pissed about than opinion of a product, but thats me anyway.

    I like you, rely on comments from users as much or more than I do evals and reviews. I read them but as you know there is a certain percentage of any product from any manufacturer that is defective. So its more or less the luck of the draw to an extent but it doesnt excuse bad design or manufacture. So we will see. Looking forward to getting the stuff.

    Regards from Ecuador. Thanks.
     
    Johnnytraveler likes this.
  15. expat42451

    expat42451 Member For 1 Year

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2017
    Messages:
    75
    If Wismec has been as bad as we all read it would be a hoot if the Gen3 proves to be an excellent mod.
     
    Psychobunny likes this.
  16. DuckysVapeReviews

    DuckysVapeReviews Silver Contributor Member For 2 Years ECF Refugee

    Blog Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2015
    Messages:
    1,051
    I am personally getting the Duo-3 with with both battery doors. I have little to nothing about it but hear very very good things about it from the few people I know who have used one. Also, it's a Sigelei. Other than TC issues early on, Sigelei has put out some amazing stuff.
     
    Breazy_Com, geoffd and expat42451 like this.
  17. expat42451

    expat42451 Member For 1 Year

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2017
    Messages:
    75
    Thats a damn nice looking mod. I looked at that but like most of the other stuff available to the rest of the world, it isnt here in Ecuador. I thought about the Wismec Reuleaux 2/3, I liked the option of either 2 or 3 batteries like the Sigelei but ran into the wall of it not being available here as well. I would be interested to see how that works out for you after a few weeks of use.
     
  18. DuckysVapeReviews

    DuckysVapeReviews Silver Contributor Member For 2 Years ECF Refugee

    Blog Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2015
    Messages:
    1,051
    Yeah, I fell in love with it at first sight. I'll post a review once I give it the once over. All my advanced gear was stolen in a break in while back and all I got currently is my sterling silver mechanical I had with me when it happened & a Subvod C starter kit I bought month ago. Can't wait to see if I'm won over by Sigelei as I was P4Y with their IPV 3 Li I had. Give me 3 weeks to thoroughly test it with tank, RDA & RTA and ill let you know if it's worthy of the Sigelei name.
     
    expat42451 likes this.
  19. expat42451

    expat42451 Member For 1 Year

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2017
    Messages:
    75
    Thanks --be looking forward to how it turns out for you and what RDA/RTA's you use.....Man thats gotta suck about being robbed. Good luck with the Sigelei. With the prices for RDA's/RTA's and mods in Ecuador I may turn into a contrabandista.

    Look forward to your review.
     
  20. DuckysVapeReviews

    DuckysVapeReviews Silver Contributor Member For 2 Years ECF Refugee

    Blog Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2015
    Messages:
    1,051
    Currently my RDAs are a Mutation XS, Mutation V4 & Mutation V4S my RTA is a Moonshot. Planning on getting the IJoy Tornado as soon as I can since its designed for 300w usage and the Moonshot only 200. Might grab a Maxo 315w mod soon as well. The whole 2 or 4 battery thing is highly interesting to me.
     
    expat42451 likes this.
  21. expat42451

    expat42451 Member For 1 Year

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2017
    Messages:
    75
    You've got a nice kit. I started 2 years ago with e cigarettes, then a little over a year ago got tired of buying coils, got my first RTA. Problem here (I stated it earlier in the thread) is taxes on imports and taxes on shipping which does more than double the price. Was just over at elementvape looking at prices to the rest of the world. I cant fault my supplier he has to suffer from the same crap I do. Kit here is Serpent Alto, a Uwell D2, TFV 12 with the rebuildable deck and a Kylin RTA's. All of the mods are single battery mods. If I were out of Ecuador and could order direct I would be broke from the choices around. I have not used an RDA but thats next along with another multi battery mod. So far with Kanthal and SS wire I have to really pay attention to how I build coils because of the resistance limits on my mods. Looking forward to the Gen 3 to have more flexibility on how I do builds. My Serpent Alto is my travel kit on an old Cloupor Mini....lowest resistance that will fire is .5 ohm so it limits what I can do.
     
  22. Psychobunny

    Psychobunny Bronze Contributor

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2017
    Messages:
    464
    Had some trouble with my new GEN3 this morning.. I attempted to get it in TC mode, which I almost never use, and couldn't get into the
    menu.. kept doing the 3 clicks.. nothing!! I finally got it, went into TC and SS, set it for 60watts at 400F.. but it was difficult to get there..
    I was vaping ok, put the mod down, and when I came back to continue vaping on it, it had magicly switched it's self back to power
    mode at 20W, which was the factory setting when I got it..
    It runs flawless in power mode.. Going to play with it more when I get home and try again to get it into TC mode..
    Will let you guys know what happens..
    I don't want to complain about it on this forum because I know some guys who hate Wismec will be like; "see!! serves you right for
    buying a Wismec MOD"... LOL

    EDIT: Been to Wismec website, the switching to power mode from TC was in the FAQ.. It does that when it reads atty resistance over 1.0.. also, the Clapton wire I am using may be kanthal core and only the outer wrap is SS... Still doesn't explain why I had a hard time getting into the menu.. I kept doing the 3 clicks, and it worked on like, the 10th time.. of course, all this happened at 4:30am... LOL
     
    Last edited: Aug 31, 2017
    David Wolf and expat42451 like this.
  23. skt239

    skt239 VU Donator Platinum Contributor Member For 3 Years

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2015
    Messages:
    6,350
    Do you know someone in the states that could buy it and send it to you disguised in a different box?
     
    expat42451 likes this.
  24. Psychobunny

    Psychobunny Bronze Contributor

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2017
    Messages:
    464

    I am finding that a lot of what ppl complain about has a logical explaination .. not always the fault of Wismec.
    Lots of folks would rather bitch and blame then look shit up for a solution....
     
    expat42451 likes this.
  25. Johnnytraveler

    Johnnytraveler Gold Contributor Member For 2 Years

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2016
    Messages:
    1,776
    That's a common problem with wismec. Not the end of the world. Consider installing Arctic Fox and running the wattage curve. Acts like tc.
     
  26. Psychobunny

    Psychobunny Bronze Contributor

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2017
    Messages:
    464

    Yeah, I am not at all worried about it, I can live w/o TC anyway.. used to use it a lot, not any more...
     
    expat42451 likes this.
  27. expat42451

    expat42451 Member For 1 Year

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2017
    Messages:
    75
    Interesting the problem with TC. I think everyone here will be interested to know whether you have any further problems, and if you decide to install ArcticFox, how that goes. skt239 I imagine if someone did ship it in a different box, customs probably would confiscate the package. The only type of package I have not had opened here are document packages, I have wondered about doing that but know people who have and it ended badly. Thanks very much for the suggestion though.

    My Gen3 should be here this evening. Looking forward to it.
     
    Johnnytraveler and skt239 like this.
  28. SkoldVape

    SkoldVape Gold Contributor Member For 1 Year

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2017
    Messages:
    2,638
    I was gonna get this mod but I'm going with the rx300 at least for now. Are you enjoying it besides it doing the famous things of kicking you into power mode??
     
    expat42451 likes this.
  29. Johnnytraveler

    Johnnytraveler Gold Contributor Member For 2 Years

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2016
    Messages:
    1,776
    Like you I use tc less and less. So My issue with wismec is not tc. I had a 200 and 200s. Because they used small power wires, my mod would get quite warm. And they weren't very efficient. So I'm hoping with the gen3 they used a thicker (lower gauge) wire.
    And I'm hoping for a better overall build quality.
    Good luck dude.
     
    David Wolf and expat42451 like this.
  30. skt239

    skt239 VU Donator Platinum Contributor Member For 3 Years

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2015
    Messages:
    6,350
    If I remember correctly it's the same gauge wiring.
     
    SkoldVape and expat42451 like this.
  31. expat42451

    expat42451 Member For 1 Year

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2017
    Messages:
    75
    Psychobunny
    Curious about what modes you use- since this will be my first experience with this advanced a mod.

    Thanks
     
    Psychobunny and SkoldVape like this.
  32. SkoldVape

    SkoldVape Gold Contributor Member For 1 Year

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2017
    Messages:
    2,638
    When the screen powers on you'll be in wattage mode and it's 3 clicks to get into the menus. And then "power" will blink & then you scroll through "ss mode" etc... All your TC modes. Wismec mods are pretty easy to use. I only use wattage mode so as soon as it powers on I'm good to go.
    I can't help you with artic fox cos I've not yet used it!! But that's your basics if you wanna get into TC mode :)
     
    expat42451 likes this.
  33. SkoldVape

    SkoldVape Gold Contributor Member For 1 Year

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2017
    Messages:
    2,638
    None of my wismec mods got hot but when I borrowed my friends rx300 it did get quite hot too touch. I think your right about the recent stuff using the same wiring! But the 510s have improved (not that I actually had problems with them.) :)
     
    Johnnytraveler and expat42451 like this.
  34. expat42451

    expat42451 Member For 1 Year

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2017
    Messages:
    75
    Skoldvape
    Thanks very much for the information. Interesting comments about the wiring as well. ArcticFox has a mode, I think its called power curve. I have seen people comment that they used this instead of TC mode. I think I am going to try using the stock firmware for a few days to see how that goes and then see about making the switch.
     
    David Wolf and SkoldVape like this.
  35. skt239

    skt239 VU Donator Platinum Contributor Member For 3 Years

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2015
    Messages:
    6,350
    My original RX200 got hot as well backed when I vaped at 80+ watts all day. Despite that, I never had issues.
     
    expat42451 likes this.
  36. SkoldVape

    SkoldVape Gold Contributor Member For 1 Year

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2017
    Messages:
    2,638
    I haven't used power curves on my wismec mods but use it on my tesla. It's a good mode. Basically you can dial in the wattage to each second & it ramps up the wattage. So you can have it start hotter an cool down or vice versa
     
    expat42451 and EMusic like this.
  37. Psychobunny

    Psychobunny Bronze Contributor

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2017
    Messages:
    464
    Ok.. I only use power mode.. i havent seen much advantage of TC except your batts may last a little longer..
    Depending on the juice (hi VG or 50/50), and the resistance of my coil, i prefer to adjust the watts on the fly as
    apposed to the TC mode.... I very seldome get hot hits just using power mode, and when I do, it's usually because
    I forgot something, like was vaping on low batts, then stuck in fresh ones... POW!!!! LOL
     
    expat42451 and SkoldVape like this.
  38. SkoldVape

    SkoldVape Gold Contributor Member For 1 Year

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2017
    Messages:
    2,638
    I actually find TC like sucking through a straw! Get a better puff in power mode
     
    expat42451 and Psychobunny like this.
  39. Psychobunny

    Psychobunny Bronze Contributor

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2017
    Messages:
    464

    Well, the Youtube reviewer guys really push TC.. except Mike pretty much feels the way I do about it.. Daniel stresses it a lot, and
    he seems to be the vapor "Guru" that everyone follows.. like "fluffing" the ends of your cotton, and cramming too much of it in
    there to begin with ... LOL
     
    expat42451 and SkoldVape like this.
  40. SkoldVape

    SkoldVape Gold Contributor Member For 1 Year

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2017
    Messages:
    2,638
    Daniel and mike are the only reviewers I find are honest and worth bothering with so you do right going by what they say!
     
    expat42451 and Psychobunny like this.
  41. Psychobunny

    Psychobunny Bronze Contributor

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2017
    Messages:
    464

    I agree.. they are by far the best reviewers.. but, what they say is just their opinion.. but I started by following exactly what Daniel
    said to do, as he is more technical, and i respect that because i am a scientist, but those little things he does, like fluffing the ends
    of the cotton, I dont do that anymore.. and I discovered i really dont need a wider strip then like 1/4'' for a 3mm coil for it to wick
    properly and get a nice vape.. He even measured the width of the piece of cotton.. i tried that with the same size coil he way using, and
    it was too tight... but at least he does all that to help ppl... most of those other reviewers are either obnoxious, or look like they are
    reading from a script... LOL
     
    expat42451 and SkoldVape like this.
  42. SkoldVape

    SkoldVape Gold Contributor Member For 1 Year

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2017
    Messages:
    2,638
    I agree it is all opinion but it's always good to see his tests as I do tests myself and like comparing them! It's cool your a scientist. I find science so interesting. I have a friend I have debates with & I know right?! Half of the time they just say every device they've reviewed is good an also when they say they've used the mod for a month an two days later they are doing another review saying they've used that device only. Such bullshit!!
     
    expat42451 likes this.
  43. expat42451

    expat42451 Member For 1 Year

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2017
    Messages:
    75
    Just got mine, put in the batteries and did another build using dual 316L SS fused Clapton wire, 24Ga &2-32Ga (Geekvape on a roll)6 turns each on the Kylin. Resistance is .10 ohms. Will not stay in TC mode, when I fire it, switches to power mode. Wonder if its similar to what happened to Psychobunny this morning. The Wismec site says over 1 ohm and back to power mode. This is.10 ohms. Interesting.....
    Also when chain vaping at 37 watts the top of the mod gets warm to the touch. Might be heat conducted from the Kylin, dunno.
     
    Psychobunny likes this.
  44. SteveS45

    SteveS45 Diamond Contributor Member For 2 Years ECF Refugee

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2016
    Messages:
    14,662
    I use my RX200S in TC all the time and the only time it kicks out of TC Mode is with one of my builds that is too low for the range it works in. Starts off in TC but once the coils get hot the resistance changes and it kicks out. Does not do that with a factory or screw in SS coil though. Just my experience with the RX200S I actually own and use on a daily basis.
     
    expat42451 likes this.
  45. expat42451

    expat42451 Member For 1 Year

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2017
    Messages:
    75
    That may be what is happening with me. I started off in power control mode and after the coils were warm switched to TC mode. Wont stay there. Thanks for the info.
     
  46. SteveS45

    SteveS45 Diamond Contributor Member For 2 Years ECF Refugee

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2016
    Messages:
    14,662
    Remember you should set the resistance with a Room Temperature Atomizer. I built too low in the Griffin 25 Plus and it kicks out when it heats up. I could lock the resistance I guess but I'd rather be vaping!
     
    expat42451 likes this.
  47. Psychobunny

    Psychobunny Bronze Contributor

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2017
    Messages:
    464
    Was the atty cool when u adjusted the TC?
    Also, try taking the atty off, then go into the menu, do the TC.. then put the atty back on, go back to menu
    and highlight the ohms so it flashes.. then press the right button on the bottom to lock the resistance..
    That may help....
     
  48. expat42451

    expat42451 Member For 1 Year

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2017
    Messages:
    75
    understand. Thanks for the info. I am running in power mode and its great. Think later today I am going to try ArcticFox.
     
    Psychobunny likes this.
  49. expat42451

    expat42451 Member For 1 Year

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2017
    Messages:
    75
    Psychobunny
    No the atty was warm when I tried to go to TC mode. Just tried locking the resistance and still get bounced out of TC to power mode.
     
  50. Psychobunny

    Psychobunny Bronze Contributor

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2017
    Messages:
    464
    Hey guys.. maybe check to see if u have the latest firmware for TC:


    LINK
     

Share This Page

Close This Message