Become a Patron!

Beginners questions: How to get a smooth AND high powered vape

BornInBlood

Member For 4 Years
Member For 3 Years
Member For 2 Years
Member For 1 Year
Member For 5 Years
Hey folks, I am not a pro in rebuilding, but i need a high wattage vape to be fully satisfied.. I have some cool setups ATM, orchid @ 0.3 Ohms, 26G, 7 wraps, 2,5MM.. @40/45W. And a Poseidon II Clone with tri coils, 26G, 8 wraps 2,5-3MM, regulated @ 70W. All rayon.
All fine, great vapor + flavor.. Vape heaven..

I just switched to 26650 size mods + attys, because of my not so tiny hands, and more space for liquid..
Now my problems: I just got a Plum veil + asmodus, both 26650 size. I wanted to make a dual coil setup on both, which takes a high wattage of 70W-100W minimum.. So i got some 24G and 20G nichrome, and made bigger coils of 3.5MM size for better wicking and more surface area..
Sadly, i get a very harsh vape on both.. The plum veil is extremely harsh, unvapeable.. The asmodus is a bit better, but far from my Poseidon II, Orchid, Kraken,...
1. I heard, that the bigger the coils get, the more harsh the vapor gets. Is that true??
2. I tried to get the coils a near to the airholes as possible.. I heard, that this is also a major point to get a smooth vape, more flavor and vapor.. Is that true, or just the opposite?
3. The Plum veil has only 1 cyclops style airhole on every side. The asmodus 2 small holes. With quads i experienced a much smoother vape with the asmodus.. At every try the plum has an extremely harsh vape.. Are the different airholes the reason?
3. What can you tell me how to get a high power (70W - 100W) RDA setup with low gauge wire, dual coils or quad coils? How many wraps, what gauge wire, how near to airflow, bigger or smaller coils, ect.? How can i get a smooth vape from them like with my Poseidon II @ 70W?