Best Coil Build For Mech

CrazyChef

Custom Hand Crafted Coils - PureCoils.com
VU Vendor
VU Donator
Platinum Contributor
Member For 4 Years
ECF Refugee
Yes, this has been discussed before in other threads. But, I couldn't seem to find a definitive answer. I just got a Beyond Vapes Beacon mech and want to be able to use it to it's fullest. I've only used regulated devices in the past - mainly an iStick 50 and a 100. For RDAs I have a HellBoy, A FreakShow (not the mini), and a Tobeco Turbo V2. I'm using Samsung 25R batteries.

I've read that the fancier builds really don't seem to make much of a difference in a mech. So, should I do a plain coil? Parallel wrap? My current "go to" coil on my reg mods is a fused Clapton.

I like what @Tom Forde said in a thread on another vaping site:
Yeah I have a lot of experience with claptons as well. 24g N80 is a great core wire to use. Use your 34g kanthal as your Clapton wrap. The Nichrome is going to give you a very quick ramp up time, so 6 wrap duals on a 2.5 or 3mm bit should serve you well

Would this be my best option? I love big clouds (Who doesn't? :D ), but flavor is the most important aspect for me.

Thanks!
CC

Last edited:

zaroba

Gold Contributor
Member For 5 Years
Really there is no 'best' for any device, be it regulated or mech.
It's all a matter of opinion. You are the one using it, so all that matters is that you enjoy the vape.

Sadly the only way to find the best for you is via trial and error.

PaulS

Gold Contributor
Member For 5 Years
Zaroba has it exactly right. I use different coil builds depending on my mood and the size and construction of the deck. A Veritas for example works well with vertical dual claptons. The Freakshow is a RDA that I dislike TBH. Not great for flavor or clouds. I like using standard kanthasl coils on some decks too. I've had zero issues building dual kanthal at around .2 on my twisted and el cabron (basically the same RDAs). On my Doge 2 I went dual claptons at .15 on an SMPL.