Become a Patron!

Brand new vaper, long time smoker. HELP!

Brand new here, guys, so thanks in advance for your patience and help. I've been lurking through the forums for a couple days now and haven't found the answers in a way I understand as I run different equipment, so sorry if this is redundant and long. I'll try to break it up.

Anyway, now that courtesy has been handled, I've been smoking 1-2 packs a day for a good 19 years. I'm done, ready to quit for real, but cold turkey isn't an option for myriad reasons, not the least of which being that my job is high stress and murder is illegal. I didn't like the pills, and hated the patch/gum, so here I am.

After a brief consultation with a guy in a local shop, I left with a Cloupor mini, 30W and a kanger subtank nano (I've since picked up a mini. I just hated refilling 2-3 times a day. It coming with an RDA raises even more questions). It'll run .5-3 ohms and 7-30 watts.

I started with 12mg nic in a tobacco flavored juice 2 weeks ago, with the .5 ohm coil, and am now using a dessert flavored 6mg with the included 1.2.

I'm not a cloud chaser. I'm vaping because I want to quit smoking. I take primarily mouth to throat hits, but occasionally do go straight to the lungs. I'd say it's 65-35 mouth to throat vs lung hits right now. Since the throat hit is what I crave beyond the nicotine, I'm trying to ramp that down along with the nic, so I'm trying to take more lung hits as time goes on. I haven't had an actual cigarette in 13 days, though it's taken a bit of willpower on occasion.

So that's what I've got, my goals, and what I'm currently using. On to the questions

All anyone will tell me is that "it's personal preference" when I ask these questions, so I'm hoping for a little more explanation.

What are the benefits/costs of running a 1.2 vs a .5, and what wattage does each coil like? All I've been told is "the .5 is gonna give you a bigger cloud" and that's it.