Become a Patron!

Building My First Coil and Feeling Overwhelmed-Subox Mini RBA

Lambreau21

Member For 4 Years
Member For 3 Years
Member For 2 Years
Member For 1 Year
I purchased the Subox Mini Kit and have been happy with buying the vertical coils but now want to try out the experience of making my own coils (save some money too). The kit came with a RBA deck and now I'm looking to buy the gear for it and feeling a little overwhelmed. Is 26 gauge Kanthal A-1 the standard to go by? I have read a lot of people go with this but not sure if its the best gauge to go with. Also is it better or worse to do a double coil? And last question goes to what is the ideal amount of wraps that I need? Thanks for all the help!

Mythical_OD

Gold Contributor
Member For 4 Years
Im a noob too so take what I say with a grain of salt, but I dont think youre suppose to build dual coils in the Subtank RBA. I think its made for 1 center coil (though Im sure some tinkerer has found a way). But for the 1 coil with the 26 Kanthal you can do 7 wraps at a 3mm diameter to get to around 1ohm, if thats what youre looking for, or you can go to a coil calculator to figure out whatever else you want. Just make sure you have an ohm meter to check the actual ohms so, you know, you dont wind up blowing your face off lol. From the sound of it you dont have any coil making gear, so if youve got the money Id really recommend copping the Coil Master kit. I have it an it sure makes it easy as hell to build coils properly.

Also the Subtank RBA was the first time I ever tried to make a coil, and a lesson I learned was dont use too much cotton in there. Like use less than you think you think you should as a noob. I packed it way too tight and it tasted like shit and burned my throat. Use just enough so that it stays put in the coil but is easy to slide back and forth with just minimal resistance. Of course, I could be wrong about all this lol.

Zamazam

Evil Vulcan's do it with Logic
VU Donator