Become a Patron!

Can I use these batteries in a Mech Mod?

Laurel

Silver Contributor
Member For 4 Years
Member For 3 Years
Member For 2 Years
Can I use these batteries in a Mech Mod? Has anyone else used Nitecore batteries?
H9xGord.jpg

vaporelse

Member For 4 Years
Member For 3 Years
Member For 2 Years
Member For 1 Year
Member For 5 Years
I always feel it is best to stick with brands like Sony, Samsung, LG, etc.

Here is a link where you can get authentic Sony VTC4 batteries, 2 for $14.41: Fadora Vapor

vaporelse

Member For 4 Years
Member For 3 Years
Member For 2 Years
Member For 1 Year
Member For 5 Years
...But I want protected batteries...

OK, sorry. In that case I will let some else answer. I have no experience with Nitecore batteries.

Laurel

Silver Contributor
Member For 4 Years
Member For 3 Years
Member For 2 Years
OK, sorry. In that case I will let some else answer. I have no experience with Nitecore batteries.
ANY protected batteries. It doesn't have to be Nitecore.

Jackson

Member For 4 Years
Member For 3 Years
Member For 2 Years
Member For 1 Year
Member For 5 Years
Those are actually protected cells and at least should be quite safe. They have an inbuilt PTC and an added PCB/PCM also.

1-1_NL183_EN4.jpg

That said performance will be so-so at best due to the protection, there is no free lunch.

Here is a comparison of 2 identical Panasonic cells. One is naked the other has the added PCM as shown above.

PAN_PCM_comp.png

We see a significant difference in voltage sag and also vaping mAh. Using 3.2V as a cutoff the unprotected one manages 33% more mAh.

Although Sony is often recommended when it comes to 18650s they have the worst safety record of any brand. And as far as the so-called 30A rating their revised datasheet for the VTC5 has dropped any mention of 30A.

http://www.intaste.de/community/dtf/technical_information.pdf

Stick with the #1 worldwide leader, Samsung.

Scooby

Member For 4 Years
Member For 3 Years
Member For 2 Years