Become a Patron!

Caution....?

First off, I'd like to have more control of what I'm putting into my body which is why I'm looking into DIY. So, getting a grip on the process and components I happened onto a flavor warehouse online. Some of the flavorings have a "caution" background and when looking at the item, it states a percentage of ingredient that could be hazardous. So....I'm sure these are the flavors that taste freakin awesome and all that but if I have a *choice*, why choose them? But, I'm a noob and would love to hear what some of you vets have to say about this that have researched this far more than I have. I'm also noticing a V2 of these items by companies making an effort to cut out the nasties. Conversely, I noticed on another very popular flavor warehouse, these items are not as clearly flagged....Uhm.....Not as kosh?

BKTOAD

Silver Contributor
Member For 4 Years
Diketones (common in creamy/buttery flavorings) are the big "risk."

I choose not to use them as well. Of my 100ish flavors, maybe 1 or 2 have them.

But it is a "choice." People "choose" to smoke, eventhough it is clearly a health risk. If using these flavorings makes someone happy, do it. I have found a lot of the v2/dx flavorings I have give an off flavor. Can't have it both ways.

I have read that there is exponentially more diketones in a cigarette than a juice that has diketone ingredients. So, use them or not, you are better off than cigs.

But, again, it is a choice. Your choice.

Some distributors (and manufacturers) clearly label which products have these ingredients. I also much appreciate them being forthcoming.

Some ingredients have a warning that is unrelated. Some flavorings do not play well with plastic tanks. That one also always made me a bit leary, but not enough to not use them. Most straight fruit flavors that have a caution, it is for this and not diketones.

SteveS45

Diamond Contributor
ECF Refugee
Member For 5 Years