Become a Patron!

Charger question

Enpsyclopedia

Member For 2 Years
ECF Refugee
I have been using a nitecore intellicharger for about 2 months now. My batteries always get hot and smell like something is on fire while their charging. I contacted nitecore and they said that it is normal, which I refuse to believe. However, I have always been curious that most box mods can be charged via USB but nobody uses them. Is it ok to charge them in the mod or is there a reason I dont see people doing it?

bobnat

VU Donator
Gold Contributor
Member For 4 Years
Batteries can hot at times when charging, but not too hot. They shouldn't smell though. Have you checked if you have an authentic one? They're cloned on a large scale. The box should have a verification sticker that you can check on their website.

You can charge via the mod. If you have a charger, it's preferable.

Countrypami

The Link Ninja
Staff member
VU Administrator
Senior Moderator
VU Vendor Employee
VU Donator
Diamond Contributor
ECF Refugee
VU Live Host
Member For 5 Years
Reddit Exile
VU Patreon
I have been using a nitecore intellicharger for about 2 months now. My batteries always get hot and smell like something is on fire while their charging. I contacted nitecore and they said that it is normal, which I refuse to believe. However, I have always been curious that most box mods can be charged via USB but nobody uses them. Is it ok to charge them in the mod or is there a reason I dont see people doing it?
Batteries can get warm but they shouldn't be getting hot to the touch. Charging is a matter of preference. I run mostly single 18650 mods and do most of my charging through USB. But some believe if you have dual or triples they should be charged on a separate charger.

SteveS45

Diamond Contributor
ECF Refugee
Member For 5 Years
That is the name of a local battery store in town.