Become a Patron!

Cleaning & Reusing Coils

kaynet

Member For 2 Years
Member For 1 Year
Can i do that? Is it safe? I have a TFV8 Baby tank w/ (Alien 220) and the coils it came with ( 0.4 quad core & 0.15 oct core) and replacements for them but I never threw out my old ones. I saw a youtube video of people cleaning their coils and that's where I got the idea. I'm really skeptical of doing that though. I've vaped for a while but i'm still a newbie to all things technical. I don't build so I don't know my mod inside out and I don't know my limits. I need to know if it's safe and a well known thing to do. If it is okay to do I'd also like some instructions if you guys don't mind. ;)

Thanks!

The Cromwell

I am a BOT
VU Donator
Diamond Contributor
Member For 4 Years
Cleaning and reusing factory coils can be done but the results pretty much suck.

MWorthington

Silver Contributor
Member For 4 Years
ECF Refugee
Once the cotton gets dirty in these factory coils, they're pretty much done for. No amount of cleaning will bring them back to where they were when new. I've heard of people cleaning them with vodka and getting a few more days out of em, but I've never had any luck with it. In my case they ended up being worse than before cleaning. They not only wouldn't wick, but now they leak like a screen door.

BCBuch

Bronze Contributor
Member For 2 Years
Member For 1 Year
I've tried it several times. Basically rinsing the coil out thoroughly under a hot water tap and then plugging the air holes and blowing the gunk and water out. At best it is only half assed successful every now and then. I was trying it because of short coil life of Smok Big Baby coils. You need to keep in mind that Smok coils and tanks aren't big flavor producers. Once you clean the coils the flavor is diminished from what it originally was. My fix was buying a couple of Maganus Cloud Blasters with top airflow. The come with two coils plus an RDA.