Become a Patron!

Coil ohm question

Nameste

Bronze Contributor
Member For 2 Years
Member For 1 Year
Hey i am very new to building I got a bellus rta I know it's not best but it was dirt cheap so I thought I would play around with it and get used to building coils etc..

Anyway I have successfully built coils for and changed it this morning again my question is before wicking ohm reader and my mod reads it 0.25 which I wanted to get but after wicking it reads 0.32 ohm reader and mod reads same. I mean don't have problem with that ohm but why can't I get it at 0.25?

I used coil calculator website and the app to get 0.25 wrap counted and ID etc..

I have kanthal A1 24awg I used drill bit that 2.38mm 6 wraps it should come up at 0.25 but final ohm is 0.32

What am I missing here?

Thanks

PropperVape

Member For 2 Years
Member For 1 Year
A lot of factors like ohms not reading correctly, leg lengths, when you wrap the wire it might spring back giving a larger diameter etc....

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

gbalkam

Gold Contributor
Member For 4 Years
ECF Refugee
Reddit Exile
A coil calculating website is a good guide, but it is not an ohm reader. Trust what you have in your hand over what is online. Different factors can affect end results.. such as how long did you straighten the coil wire for before wrapping.. did you straighten the wire? How tight are your wraps around the core, how long are the legs, the resistance of your atomizer without the coil, etc etc. 0.07 ohm is not a lot of difference and will work fine. Better to high than to low. (if the coil were below your mods minimium resistance, it wouldnt work)

Tanker

Bronze Contributor
Member For 4 Years
Member For 3 Years
Member For 2 Years
I
Hey i am very new to building I got a bellus rta I know it's not best but it was dirt cheap so I thought I would play around with it and get used to building coils etc..