Become a Patron!

Dual 18650s vs Single 21700

godhelpme

Member For 1 Year
I am not that informed when it comes to batteries as I've only had one mod (that had a freak accident). I am between two mods now, one of which is a dual 18650 and the other a single 18650, 20700, or 21700. The ohm resistances would be anywhere from .2 to 1.5. Occasional Sub-Ohm and RDA, but MTL is the main type of tank I use if it matters. I'm new to coil building so unsure if it affects any kind of setup.

TL;DR: What are the pros and cons of each setup?

Ralph_K

Silver Contributor
Member For 4 Years
A 21700 wouldn't last as long as dual 18650 but size of mod could be smaller. Doing MTL battery life should be an issue. I got dual 21700

godhelpme

Member For 1 Year
A 21700 wouldn't last as long as dual 18650 but size of mod could be smaller. Doing MTL battery life should be an issue. I got dual 21700
Probably a dumbass question, but would single or dual coil, or type of coil used create much difference in battery life?

Ralph_K

Silver Contributor
Member For 4 Years
Probably a dumbass question, but would single or dual coil, or type of coil used create much difference in battery life?
Yes larger mass is going to take longer to heat up and lower ohms is going to take more power. being dual coil by itself isn't going to necessary drain batteries faster if you keep those coils higher ohm.

midknight420

VU Donator
Gold Contributor
Member For 4 Years
I'm old fashioned, so my personal opinion is to go with dual 18650. They are tried and true and dependable. If you're doing mtl mostly then battery life won't be an issue. I'm running a single .7 clapton at 35w atm on dual 18650's. Battery life will NOT be an issue at all.

Sent from my LGMP450 using Tapatalk

IcepickMaker84

VU Donator
Gold Contributor
Member For 4 Years
ECF Refugee