Become a Patron!

EctoCooler Clone… Something is Missing (Please Help)

notsri

Member For 4 Years
Member For 3 Years
Member For 2 Years
Member For 1 Year
Member For 5 Years
I am new to the DIY Juice making. I am trying to make a few clones to get started. I found this recipe online and after letting it steep for 3 days it just tastes weird. It has a strange mouth feel to it and I am NOT getting that ectocooler HI-C flavor I was hoping for. Any help would be greatly appreciated. I am making 30ml until I get i right. I am also mixing with a magnetic mixer with a magnetic pill for 1 hour to fully incorporate the juice and letting it breathe with a coffee filter on top for at least 10 hrs, before I transferred it to a plastic bottle, which I keep in a dark closet and shake it up every day. (This is a 0mg nic mix)

6% TFA Hawaiian Punch
6% Flavor West "Ecto Cooler"
1% TFA "Smooth"

Please advise if the ingredients are off, or if I am doing something wrong in the mixing/steeping process.

Thank you
J

chickenmonkey

Silver Contributor
Member For 4 Years
Member For 3 Years
Member For 2 Years
Member For 1 Year
Member For 5 Years
I am not an expert at all and I don't use many tfa flavours, but you may want to gradually increase them until they taste right. When I have used tfa or flavor west I do use higher percentages.

notsri

Member For 4 Years
Member For 3 Years
Member For 2 Years
Member For 1 Year
Member For 5 Years
Have you tried a test batch without Smooth?
I have not tried it without smooth. That was my initial thought to remove it. I just assumed that the person who cloned it added it for a reason.

Huckleberried

VU Donator
Diamond Contributor
Member For 5 Years
VU Patreon
Oh, yeah. Sorry, forgot you were following a recipe... With that said, maybe it was simply made to their taste. You could still mix up a small sample, say 5ml, and see.

notsri

Member For 4 Years
Member For 3 Years
Member For 2 Years
Member For 1 Year
Member For 5 Years