Become a Patron!

Explain TC/watts/joules

Powerman

Silver Contributor
Member For 4 Years
Member For 3 Years
OK, I'm a noob to vaping, but not to watts. I make them for a living. But let's talk TC...

Doing some reading of various chips, and writers, and capers... Yihi limits to 50 joules. 75 on the 350. Other say they prefer other chips that do watts even though they are the same.

I read the piece on cloudmaker about TC. And how limiting temp and using more power produces more vapor. That I get to a point... But volts or amps crammed through a tiny wire produces heat. To limit the max temp, you have to limit watts or joules. Energy over time. Volts or amps, one or the other, you have to slow down how much you are trying to cram through the wire.

Vapor production and air flow will cool the coil. Provide more, you lower temp... So you can do more watts/joules. But that is more about the tank being driven that the board being driven. What am I missing?

Seems when talking about chips, some want to speak about how much it can do, but if your tank/coil can only do 30 joules at 400F, then it doesn't really matter if the board can do 200 watts.

yamooo

Bronze Contributor
Member For 4 Years
Member For 3 Years
Member For 2 Years
Member For 1 Year
A lot of people who vape are not smart or do not understand physics and think Bigger Watts = Better Mod.

SailCat

Silver Contributor
Member For 5 Years
I am not particularly bright so hope to find some answers. Thank you for asking the question(s), @Powerman.

Subscribing.

Mattp169

Platinum Contributor
Vape Media
Member For 5 Years
the way the temp is limited is by reading the resistance of the coil. so when resistance = max temp. power is cut
depending upon current resistance and resistance need to reach max temp determines how much power either in joules or watts is applied.

the resistance is read several times a second. some boards read more often and are more accurate