Become a Patron!

Fairly new to the ohms law

Locomotion

Member For 2 Years
Member For 1 Year
I've been building my own coils for about a month trying to figure this ohms law out as a builder.I know of the some what basics but one thing I want to master is knowing what my ohms are going to read before I build them.Its tricky because I'm new to this but I know what a single coil reads a dual is half the ohms.I prefer vaping at higher ohms lower builds of mine don't produce the vapor enough without jacking up the wattage.Nothing against those who like that I preferably stay around 70 to 75.Back to the ohms law what I can't get right is mm to length of the wire do I actually need to buy a ruler just to master this skill.Some things I know feel free to fill in.

KingPin!

In my defence, I was left unsupervised ^^
VU Donator
Platinum Contributor
Member For 4 Years
VU Challenge Team
Reviewer
What are you building on atty wise?

Also what device will be powering a mech or regulated mod?

Synphul

Gold Contributor
Member For 4 Years
Another vote for the steam engine calculator. It comes pretty close, once you fill in what type of wire, the gauge of the wire, inner diameter of the wraps and leg length (ends of the coil that stick out to attach to the posts). Generally the lower resistance builds do take more power but it depends on the wire. Stainless steel has a lower resistance than kanthal but has less wire mass at the same resistance so it should ramp up faster.

Not sure what you meant by 70-75, if you meant you prefer your coil resistance to be around 0.7 to 0.75 ohms or if you meant you vape at 70-75w. I used stainless steel as the core wires for my fused claptons, 3x 28ga wrapped with 38ga ni80. In dual coil configuration they come out to .11 to .12 ohms and 75w heats them up fairly well. I'm sure if I used thicker kanthal to get the same resistance it would take more power.

Locomotion

Member For 2 Years
Member For 1 Year