Become a Patron!

Frustrating dry hits

Ghostpowa

Member For 1 Year
Hello guys. I am quite new to vaping, started about a month ago with the intention to stop smoking and start vaping instead. I bought the iStick Pico and had a melo 3 mini tank that came with it.

Had some issues at first, since I didn't know how to prime and that you needed to do that and what not, but I got it to work and I had a really good vaping experience up until now...

Basically, during a night out drinking, I accidentally dropped my vape and one of the parts at the bottom of the tank got misaligned and then the tank wouldn't "fit" on my iStick Pico anymore since it was leaning and misaligned.

Anyway, yesterday I went to a vape shop to buy a new tank, I bought the Melo 4 (2ml) because the guy at the store said it would work well with the iStick Pico and it was cheaper. So I immidiately primed the coil (by dropping e-liquid on the sides of the coil, inside the "hole" down to the coil and the cotton inside).

I took a few dry hits without firing the button and let it sit for like half an hour or so. I started trying to vape and I started it at 30 watts, and it immidiately tasted and smelled burnt. I figured the coil might've been bad or something and swapped it out to the 0.5 ohm that was included, also brand new. I primed it, and followed specific guides on how to prime it and basically did everything according to the book... and this time it doesn't smell or taste burnt, but I am defenitely only getting dry hits... there is vapor but it doesn't taste anything but hot air and it is very unpleasant to inhale.

So I have tried 4 different coils by now, trying different things on each of them, such as sticking holes in the cotton, priming them, letting them sit in the tank for over one hour and even the whole night, etc. At this point I'm not sure what to do or what the issue might be...