Become a Patron!

Halo triton coils/batteries

Synphul

Gold Contributor
Member For 4 Years
Ok, so I'm not an electrical engineer by any means but when using a fixed battery (4.1-4.2v fresh charge, ~3.7v average) don't higher resistance coils vape hotter?

My mom currently uses the halo triton vape pen kit and has been having an issue with coils burning out pretty quick, within a day or two. I used an identical kit last year when she got hers and our coils lasted 7-10 days. By then the wick was pretty well done and had been used with various juices, replaced the prebuilt coil/wick heads since replacing just the wick was a royal pia. Now however she puts in a new coil, fills with juice, goes to refill the tank and poof, coil's dead.

She's been going through email hell with halo trying to sort out what the problem is with their coils burning out so fast. First they wanted to know how she knew the coil was burnt/failed. Then they wanted to know this, then that. Her original batteries died and she replaced it with a brand new halo triton battery but instead of the smaller 650mah she opted for the larger 1300mah battery. Still the same voltage, it's a fixed battery. They tried to blame it on the battery, she told them she got a brand new battery (1 week old).

Now these clowns are telling her that the new battery is 'too powerful' for the coils because it has higher mah. Umm, the voltage output didn't change. They told her that because it's a bigger battery and holds a bigger charge it will stay at its peak voltage longer (makes sense) and that's the reason it's burning coils. It was burning coils on her older worn out 650mah batteries as well. Regardless it's still 4.2w max, their coils don't come with a warning "only good on a half dead battery at 3.7v". She mtl vapes and my average direct lung inhales are around 3sec long. I know she isn't mtl puffing for 3s, more like 1, maybe 2 seconds.