Become a Patron!

Help with building please

CAPER88

Member For 2 Years
Member For 1 Year
I'm new to the rta scene...i have a Griffin mini on an istick 30watt....i can't seem to get a coil to work for me....i have tried 7-10 wraps gives me an amazing ohm reading but when I fire it up to get any hot spots out my voltage always spikes to 5.1 and up....Can anyone help me with how to get a good coil that i can actually use :(
I'm using 26 gauge kanthal....originally had 22 gauge but that was too thick...and taking to long to heat up

gbalkam

Gold Contributor
Member For 4 Years
ECF Refugee
Reddit Exile
First of all, it is going to have to be a single coil.
6 wraps of 26ga kanthal, on a 2.5 id core, single coil should vape ok.
or on a 2.25 id core (the size of the little blue screwdriver shaft that came with the atomizer) will work better.
30w isn't much to work with and you need to have heat flux of 300 mW/mm2 to get a decent vape.

The good news is, you can build a fairly usable coil right now with what you have. Bad news, if you want to get into dual coils, you are going to need a more powerful mod. 30 just will not power a decent dual coil set up. 2 wraps per coil isn't much good, so I tried to do a build of at least 5. 6 is even better.

Here is the build..
http://www.steam-engine.org/coil.html?r=0.75&hf=350&awg=26&id=2.5

CAPER88

Member For 2 Years
Member For 1 Year
First of all, it is going to have to be a single coil.
6 wraps of 26ga kanthal, on a 2.5 id core, single coil should vape ok.
or on a 2.25 id core (the size of the little blue screwdriver shaft that came with the atomizer) will work better.
30w isn't much to work with and you need to have heat flux of 300 mW/mm2 to get a decent vape.