Hohm Wrecker G2 and Slice first time users guide

Discussion in 'Regulated (Voltage / Wattage / 3.7v/ Temp Control)' started by mjag, Dec 2, 2016.

  1. KGuardian

    KGuardian Silver Contributor Member For 2 Years

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2015
    Messages:
    651
    Thank you :) Did you purchase your mod savers direct from Kidney Puncher?
     
    Heartsdelight and TrollDragon like this.
  2. TrollDragon

    TrollDragon Silver Contributor Member For 2 Years ECF Refugee

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2015
    Messages:
    656
    Yes I picked up 5 packs of all three of their sizes and brought in a bunch from 3F too.
     
    Heartsdelight and KGuardian like this.
  3. SirRichardRear

    SirRichardRear AKA Anthony Vapes on Youtube VU Donator Diamond Contributor Member For 1 Year Reviewer

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2016
    Messages:
    11,525
    I haven't used the exo on my G2 but never had a issue with it on any other device. Does your exo work on others? I had an issue like that with one of my G2s i sent it for warranty. You could try to reload the firmware and see if that fixes it
     
    Heartsdelight and KGuardian like this.
  4. KGuardian

    KGuardian Silver Contributor Member For 2 Years

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2015
    Messages:
    651
    No....I've never had an issue with my EXO's on any other mod that I have. I thought it was odd that both of my EXO's are the only ones the G2 is having an issue with because everything else I've screwed on the G2 works fine, but saw @mjag's note "Some tanks from Horizontech and a few others don't play nice on the G2 or Slice from time to time" and that adding a mod protector solves it. I will try to reflash and see what happens. I did order some kidney puncher mod protectors, but it doesn't seem like that should be necessary. I will use those protectors anyway for all of my atomizers now just to keep my mods protected from scratches so thanks for the tip @TrollDragon
     
    TrollDragon and Heartsdelight like this.
  5. KGuardian

    KGuardian Silver Contributor Member For 2 Years

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2015
    Messages:
    651
    Other than that little glitch with my exo's I'm loving the hit this G2 puts out in regular kanthal mode. It's very consistent. I haven't used it in TC yet, but I look forward to trying that. I have the blue and silver. It's a small brick and not all that pretty, but it's different and a nice addition to my little collection of higher quality mods.
     
  6. Deucesjack

    Deucesjack VU Donator Platinum Contributor Member For 2 Years ECF Refugee

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2015
    Messages:
    7,957
    After you see all it does so well the looks of it grow on you. Great mod, enjoy!
     
  7. yasaboss

    yasaboss Bronze Contributor Member For 2 Years

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2015
    Messages:
    409
    Delete, wrong thread..
     
    Last edited: Jun 23, 2017
  8. Paratech

    Paratech I forgot VU Donator Gold Contributor Member For 2 Years

    Blog Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2015
    Messages:
    2,849
    The Tobeco Super Tanks tend to have issues on the G2 but they also have a lengthy list of other mods they don't like as well.
    (The original Super Tanks)
     
    MWorthington likes this.
  9. raymo2u

    raymo2u VU Donator Platinum Contributor Member For 2 Years Unlisted Vendor

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    May 31, 2015
    Messages:
    9,064
    I hope you guys are ready for a new update....just one creeping around the corner for all my G2 users ;)
     
  10. Paratech

    Paratech I forgot VU Donator Gold Contributor Member For 2 Years

    Blog Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2015
    Messages:
    2,849
    With the amount of mods I have; I have came to the conclusion that if a mod is working well for me, I do not update it unless said update provides something new that I need/want that I previously didn't have.
    Some manufactures (NOT implying this to be the case with the G2) fail to post what purpose the update serves and those updates I ALWAYS ignore.
    Just my thoughts on it.
    With HohmTech I'd venture to say the update will indeed be of a valued gain.
    Odds are I will not update all 5 of mine though.
    They work exceptionally well as they are.
    However: if this new update adds the coffee making feature, I will apply it to everything including testing it on the microwave.
     
  11. raymo2u

    raymo2u VU Donator Platinum Contributor Member For 2 Years Unlisted Vendor

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    May 31, 2015
    Messages:
    9,064
    It wont make coffee but it does have some valuable tweaks and added power
     
  12. TrollDragon

    TrollDragon Silver Contributor Member For 2 Years ECF Refugee

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2015
    Messages:
    656
    Custom raymo2u firmware for the G2?
    I'm up for that! :cheers:
     
    MWorthington and raymo2u like this.
  13. Paratech

    Paratech I forgot VU Donator Gold Contributor Member For 2 Years

    Blog Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2015
    Messages:
    2,849
    Sounds like something I'd be interested in.
    Is this something you're working on or have an inside track to?
     
    MWorthington and raymo2u like this.
  14. raymo2u

    raymo2u VU Donator Platinum Contributor Member For 2 Years Unlisted Vendor

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    May 31, 2015
    Messages:
    9,064
    Not me personally this time, I dont have the time to dip into playing with coding or Id put my own spin on it...but its a Original Firmware, with another brands influence on it...thats all Ill share for now ;)
     
  15. BrewBear

    BrewBear Platinum Contributor Member For 1 Year

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2016
    Messages:
    5,518
    Since another brand is getting involved, does that mean the FSK chip will be available in other than Hohm Tech mods? Dare I dream a squonk FSK?
     
    MWorthington likes this.
  16. Paratech

    Paratech I forgot VU Donator Gold Contributor Member For 2 Years

    Blog Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2015
    Messages:
    2,849
    Now my curiosity is taking over.....
     
  17. TrollDragon

    TrollDragon Silver Contributor Member For 2 Years ECF Refugee

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2015
    Messages:
    656
    It's not that Rig Mod firmware is it? Been there, done that and went back to 2.5.7 quite quickly.

    9 days ago... ;)
    http://vapingunderground.com/threads/hohm-wrecker-g2.191406/page-111#post-1773264
     
    gakudzu and MWorthington like this.
  18. scalewiz

    scalewiz VU Donator Bronze Contributor Member For 2 Years

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2015
    Messages:
    437
    My personal experience, I don't find the 510 connector on the G2 all that impressive. Mine worked fine at first, but then it seemed like screwing an atomizer onto the G2 which had too long of a center pin/510 connector would cause connection problems. If I would unscrew the atty a little, it worked just fine. Adding one of the delrin spacers under the atty solved the problem for those tanks.

    Then the 510 threads failed. It was definitely the 510 connector and not the tank. Replacement was required with a new 510 connector. During disassembly I further learned that I don't like the 510. If you replace the connector, the mod works great without the above problems.

    Then I lost the mod. :(
     
  19. raymo2u

    raymo2u VU Donator Platinum Contributor Member For 2 Years Unlisted Vendor

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    May 31, 2015
    Messages:
    9,064
    Thats a leaked unfinished firmware....the firmware will be similar but will be posted on the HohmTech site, I wouldnt download any firmware not posted there...they wont be 100% safe.

    They do sell the chip by itself but I wouldnt count on it since Hohmtech is moving more of their funds into battery development. They will continue to improve on the chip itself and there may be possible joint boxes made but I wouldnt expect Hohmtech to release anther box unless the FDA Regs hit the floor.
     
    gakudzu, TrollDragon and MWorthington like this.
  20. MWorthington

    MWorthington Silver Contributor Member For 1 Year ECF Refugee

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2016
    Messages:
    742
    Damn, that sounds about like something that would happen to me! :( I didn't 'like' your post because I didn't want it to look like I was enjoying your bad luck. I hate it for you.


    Thanks for the update Raymo.
     
    raymo2u likes this.
  21. TrollDragon

    TrollDragon Silver Contributor Member For 2 Years ECF Refugee

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2015
    Messages:
    656
    I was posted by HohmTech on their FB page, I asked them for a proper HT version with the updates applied. :cheers:
     
    gakudzu likes this.
  22. scalewiz

    scalewiz VU Donator Bronze Contributor Member For 2 Years

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2015
    Messages:
    437
    That's alright. I've got another G2, along with 3 slices! :bliss:

    They all work great and I'm set for a long time to come! Reliable is what they are. :)
     
    gakudzu, MWorthington and Mundo like this.
  23. raymo2u

    raymo2u VU Donator Platinum Contributor Member For 2 Years Unlisted Vendor

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    May 31, 2015
    Messages:
    9,064
    Maybe they were looking for guinea pigs to test and report? Im not sure why they would do it for any other reason but either way I would consider that a prerelease and not a functional approved update.
     
    Heartsdelight and TrollDragon like this.
  24. TrollDragon

    TrollDragon Silver Contributor Member For 2 Years ECF Refugee

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2015
    Messages:
    656
    2 1/2 months later... Any status update on this new firmware?
     
    gakudzu and Heartsdelight like this.
  25. MWorthington

    MWorthington Silver Contributor Member For 1 Year ECF Refugee

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2016
    Messages:
    742
    I've had my G2 for a few months now, using it almost exclusively and have a couple of observations.

    First, this thing is still a beast! Using my Reload clone rda, with a pair of aliens, I can only guess they're either kanthal or nichrome 80 considering the source, I actually managed to get a really decent temp control vape out of it. The thing is, it's erratic as all hell. Once you get it set, it vapes great for a tank or two, maybe 3 and the next time you fill it, the temperature will go all screwy. It'll either be hotter or cooler, depending on its mood at the time.

    So, to check if I had a bad mod, or a bad atty, I put some 10 wrap simple wire kanthal coils in a known good dripper, and used that for a few days. Same thing. It would work great for a few drips, then go all to hell. I'd have to adjust the temp up and down as much as 30 degrees sometimes. Once you get it adjusted, it's great, though. For a while.

    Really thinking I have a defective mod now, I ordered a spool of 26g ss316L wire from Kidney Puncher and rolled up a pair of 12 wrap coils and threw 'em in the dripper using the ss316 preset and have been enjoying a smooth, consistent, flavorful vape for several hours now. It was so good, I replaced the simple wire coils with a pair of staggered fused claptons - ss316L 28g/32gx2/32g and I can't believe the vape I'm getting from my rda.

    I'm happy to report that my G2 is working exactly as it should. Smooth and trouble free. Yes, the G2 WILL temp control kanthal, and if all you have handy is kanthal coils, you can get a good tc vape but you'll have to constantly fiddle with it.

    If you want a good smooth, consistent vape, get you some stainless coils and vape without all the fiddling. That's my thoughts on it.

    Discussion?
     
  26. fozzy71

    fozzy71 Silver Contributor Member For 1 Year

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2016
    Messages:
    539
    I only vape SS wire in TC mode. I tried kanthal and SS in vape porn mode and didn't experience what you mentioned but I didn't keep it in vape porn mode long as I didn't want to be bothered having to fiddle with settings/curves/whatever it's called. Same reason I don't bother using my smy sdna 75 anymore or using TCR values in my other devices. I just want a decent vape in normal TC mode (without having to use software, curves, tcr, etc and the FSK chip in the G2 delivers better than any of my wismec/eleaf mods and my cartel revenant as well.
     
  27. raymo2u

    raymo2u VU Donator Platinum Contributor Member For 2 Years Unlisted Vendor

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    May 31, 2015
    Messages:
    9,064
    The G2 shines as a powerful regulated mod in normal power mode....smooth and consistent...
     
  28. MWorthington

    MWorthington Silver Contributor Member For 1 Year ECF Refugee

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2016
    Messages:
    742
    That's absolutely true. I just prefer temp control since I don't like a hot vape and it just gets too warm for me in power mode. I'm vaping in ss mode at 100 watts and 390 degrees and I love it. In power mode, 50 watts gets too hot for me after a second or two.
     
  29. TrollDragon

    TrollDragon Silver Contributor Member For 2 Years ECF Refugee

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2015
    Messages:
    656
    Anything other than the regular TC wires on the G2 is a hit or miss thing for sure under temperature control. I have found the same thing where it works for a bit then it's tinker time again. I've drained a tank playing with the settings to get it dialed in. :D
     
    MWorthington and Heartsdelight like this.
  30. Sparky Spark

    Sparky Spark New Member

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2017
    Messages:
    32
    So I downloaded the fsk installer and the .df file, plugged my slice in, with the port on, and the update button is still not an option to click! WTF[​IMG]


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
    TrollDragon likes this.
  31. TrollDragon

    TrollDragon Silver Contributor Member For 2 Years ECF Refugee

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2015
    Messages:
    656
    You have to click the Open button and select the DFU file.
     
    gakudzu and mjag like this.
  32. Sparky Spark

    Sparky Spark New Member

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2017
    Messages:
    32
    Yeah... I did bro... that's how the vendor number got there


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  33. Sparky Spark

    Sparky Spark New Member

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2017
    Messages:
    32
    After countless hours of frustration, my hohmie and I are up to date. [​IMG]


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  34. Mundo

    Mundo Member For 2 Years

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2015
    Messages:
    29
    I use my slice exclusively(in xxx mode with SS wire) and have noticed the same thing. .. every few tanks I end up adjusting the FSK or wattage for a tank or two and then it eventually moves back down to my normal values. Interesting that it may be the brand of wire? I've only been using one brand and I'm going to have to try the kidney puncher wire. Thanks for the Post!

    Sent from my 831C using Tapatalk
     
    MWorthington likes this.
  35. MWorthington

    MWorthington Silver Contributor Member For 1 Year ECF Refugee

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2016
    Messages:
    742
    I haven't had that problem with my G2 in SS mode but the coils I'm using are Sandvik wire from Kidney Puncher so that could possibly be the issue if you're using cheap wire. I honestly don't have a clue but I'm sure it's a possibility. Hohmtech advertises the Slice to fire down to 1 micro-ohm (.000001 ohms) so, a chip that sensitive is surely gonna exhibit a serious dislike of a less than pure load I'm thinking. I could be wrong though. ;)
     
    gakudzu likes this.
  36. Sparky Spark

    Sparky Spark New Member

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2017
    Messages:
    32
    Having an issue that I'm hoping someone can enlighten me as to why this is happening and how to fix it. In TC mode, During mid vape after 2 seconds, it stops production, volts/watts read zero. Tried different battery and same thing. Help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  37. fq06

    fq06 Gold Contributor Member For 3 Years

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2014
    Messages:
    3,170
    Yo hohms!

    What mode and wire are you running?
     
  38. Sparky Spark

    Sparky Spark New Member

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2017
    Messages:
    32
    Still tweaking that kanthal. Thinking that may be my issue. Not sure, as I've followed all your previous suggestions hohmie


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  39. Sparky Spark

    Sparky Spark New Member

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2017
    Messages:
    32
    TC


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  40. fq06

    fq06 Gold Contributor Member For 3 Years

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2014
    Messages:
    3,170
    The mod thinks you are reaching set temp and cutting off.

    XXX mode? Or Kanthal mode?

    Kanthal mode we went through and if you locked resistance, not much more you can do.

    XXX mode you can tweak for any type of wire. The chart below give you an idea of where to start with FSK setting for different wire types. Try 2.5 at 450° with watts higher than the coil should need like 60w for a 40w coil.
    If it's hitting temp cut off, raise FSK number till it does not hit temp cut off and is giving you the vape you want. Then fine tune with your temp setting higher or lower.

    SS wire will work much better in temp control, you should pick up some 430ss clapton wire from advanced vape supply (use in ss 430 mode) or 316L ss clapton wire (use in ss 316 mode) from just about anywhere. It will perform much better in TC.



    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Sep 16, 2017
    MWorthington, Mundo, mjag and 2 others like this.
  41. fq06

    fq06 Gold Contributor Member For 3 Years

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2014
    Messages:
    3,170
    Also, to add, once your resistance is locked in, it is locked in regardless of what mode you are in.
    Only time you need to relock is if you take the atty off.

    To lock, you need to remove atty, with room temperature coil, hit fire without the atty on. Screw atty on, hit fire for a split second, then lock resistance.

    If you don't clear the memory by hitting fire without the atty and then fire with the atty, it will not lock the correct resistance.
     
    Last edited: Sep 16, 2017
    MWorthington likes this.
  42. Sparky Spark

    Sparky Spark New Member

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2017
    Messages:
    32
    Nice explanation there hohms! Thank you


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
    MWorthington and fq06 like this.
  43. TrollDragon

    TrollDragon Silver Contributor Member For 2 Years ECF Refugee

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2015
    Messages:
    656
    When you say "locking in" the resistance you really mean setting the baseline correct? Not actually locking the resistance with the Mode and - Button.
     
  44. fq06

    fq06 Gold Contributor Member For 3 Years

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2014
    Messages:
    3,170
    Actually locking resistance with the mode and down button.
    Hohmtech says it will be less efficient on your battery draw but I have no issue with the run time I get out of a charge.

    If it is less efficient, which I didn't notice any less run time, it is well worth it to have a smoother more consistent TC experience. When I first got the mod the TC vape was hotter than it should have been one hit and cool the next. More pronounced with kanthal than SS but still existed with a SS build.

    On occasion I will forget to lock resistence after I put the battery back in from a charge and I'm like WTF? Oh yeah, lock resistance, all good again.
     
    Last edited: Sep 17, 2017
    TrollDragon likes this.
  45. fozzy71

    fozzy71 Silver Contributor Member For 1 Year

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2016
    Messages:
    539
    hmm, i have been vaping with mine unlocked for ages because I didn't notice any major difference when I first got them and tried it locked. will give it a try again on all 3 of the ones I got in rotation ss in normal tc mode. Do you use normal tc mode or xxx mode for your ss tc?
     
    TrollDragon likes this.
  46. fq06

    fq06 Gold Contributor Member For 3 Years

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2014
    Messages:
    3,170
    SS 316 or 430 mode depending on which wire I am using. Played with xxx mode a hand full of times but the mod does a great job with the SS presets so I don't mess around with xxx anymore.

    I am running the newest firmware version (which is about a year old now :wait:), I heard the older versions presets didn't work very well.
     
  47. fq06

    fq06 Gold Contributor Member For 3 Years

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2014
    Messages:
    3,170
    By the way, i haven't vaped anything a smooth as this board with SS430 clapton wire from AVS, it is perfection in TC.
     
  48. TrollDragon

    TrollDragon Silver Contributor Member For 2 Years ECF Refugee

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2015
    Messages:
    656
    I will try this out as well, thanks!
     
  49. VinnySem

    VinnySem Member For 1 Year

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2016
    Messages:
    144
    Hey gang,
    Happy Slice SE user here, except for the paint issue. I happened to be doing some Googling on the Slice, and lo and behold, VaporDNA has the LE's on clearance for $35!!! I ordered two! Get 'em while the gettin's good!

    Also, JWraps has a whole mess of different wraps for just about any mod for $17. I ordered a couple for my Slices just so it doesn't look like it should be pushing a shopping cart full of recyclables.

    Vape on!
     
  50. eStorm

    eStorm Bronze Contributor

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2017
    Messages:
    189
    I keep purchasing mods and somehow I always end up with mods that do a horrible job at tc. I gotta stop buying stuff that looks good, but that's a different story for a other day lol.

    Someone suggested the dna's to me, but that's out of league for now. A friend of mine told me about the G2 and how amazing it is, but same breath he was saying it ain't available anymore. Well since vaporcube is running a sale on the G2 in silver and orange, as well as the LE and the slice, I ordered one G2 in silver, now after reading this topic I'm so excited, can't wait for it to arrive, maybe I finally can stop buying mods if that thing is really that great? :)
     
    mjag likes this.

Share This Page

Close This Message