1. UP FOR A NEW CHALLENGE? CLICK HERE TO CHECK IT OUT

Hohm Wrecker G2 and Slice first time users guide

Discussion in 'Regulated (Voltage / Wattage / 3.7v/ Temp Control)' started by mjag, Dec 2, 2016.

  1. fq06

    fq06 Gold Contributor Member For 3 Years

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2014
    Messages:
    3,354
    Got a DNA last week and it is good, but not as good as an FSK chip when it comes to TC. DNA has absolutely zero fire delay, it has that on the FSK which has a fraction of a second delay but that's all I can give the DNA as an advantage.
     
    mjag, Deucesjack and eStorm like this.
  2. mjag

    mjag Gold Contributor Member For 3 Years

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2015
    Messages:
    3,864
    Congrats!

    I still have at least 2 G2's and a slice in use even though my mod count has increased a lot but there still some of my favorite mods to use.

    Word of advice, patience. A lot of people including myself have started off with not such a great time with the G2 until you finally get the hang of it. For me the first day I was almost ready to send it back but stuck with it over the weekend and am so happy I did. If it wasn't for the help of all the great people on the original G2 thread I would have missed out.

    DNA's are great, no denying that but for the price of the G2's and Slice right now you can equal the performance and have more versatility in the wire you use.
     
  3. VinnySem

    VinnySem Member For 2 Years

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2016
    Messages:
    144
    I've been using my Slice for a while, now, all TC mode using SS316L coils of various build types. Amazing smooth vapes with that. I ordered two more from Vapor DNA on clearance.

    I tried using some Kanthal I had kicking around in TC mode, and for the life of me I could not get a decent consistent vape out of it. I did a 26g 5 wraps 3mm spaced coil, put it in my Digiflavor Siren 22, changed to Kanthal TC mode , 51% Insane on the Auto+ TC Level, left the FSK setting at the default 50%, reset the coil on the mod, put the atty on, set the temp to 400F... vape was so hot I thought the cotton was on fire. Went into the FSK settings for Kanthal, lowered the setting to 40%, Still way to hot. No matter where I had the FSK set, it was either too hot or too cool. When I found a setting I liked, the next time I took a pull it was way off again.

    For folks using this mod and Kanthal TC, do you primarily use xXx mode for Kanthal? Or, for those using Kanthal mode, what do you have the FSK set to for Kanthal mode?
     
    TrollDragon likes this.
  4. mjag

    mjag Gold Contributor Member For 3 Years

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2015
    Messages:
    3,864
    I learned on the XXX mode and for Kanthal is varies from about 2.5% to 7% IME depending on the coil and ramp up needed. I have had to go as low as 0.5% at times, this is usually with a fused clapton with small gauge cores that ramps up real quick, kanthal/nichrome mixed claptons can be tricky as well.

    I have heard others mention that it is better to lock resistance when using Kanthal. Haven't really gotten into that myself but I can see how that might help if you live in a place were outside temp changes a lot. I live in S CA and it is 90f outside right now, if you live someplace where it is in the 70's inside and 40's outside then I could see how that would affect TC when you go outside.
     
  5. fq06

    fq06 Gold Contributor Member For 3 Years

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2014
    Messages:
    3,354
    Yeah, try lock resistance with mode & down button. Can't hurt to try.

    I got run away temps then cold without resistance lock using kanthal. I used kanthal mode and didn't mess with any of the settings, just locked and ran it. I do prefer SS though so I just used kanthal mode for the hell of it and switched back to a SS coil
     
    Mundo, VinnySem and mjag like this.
  6. eStorm

    eStorm Silver Contributor Member For 1 Year Reddit Exile

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2017
    Messages:
    861
    Alright got my G2 today and played around with it, so far I'm loving it, however I then realized I haven't updated it and were running the 2.4.4 firmware that was installed by default. Went to their homepage and updated to 2.5.7 that's the latest it shows there. While waiting for it to update by accident I fell over a link to their FB page and it shows a 181w upgrade. I don't do FB but my question was this. Is it a legit update or just the alpha/beta run of an upcoming firmware upgrade? Somebody installed it yet and can tell me if I should update or leave it at the 2.5.7? If its not a alpha/beta why is it not available on their official homepage? Some enlightenment would be appreciated, would hate to update just to have reverse it an hour later lol.
     
    TrollDragon likes this.
  7. fq06

    fq06 Gold Contributor Member For 3 Years

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2014
    Messages:
    3,354
    The 181 upgrade was missing a preset wire type or something like that, cant remember exactly what it was.
    Another company put the fsk chip in their box and hohmtech gave them a new firmware version for it.
     
    mjag and TrollDragon like this.
  8. VinnySem

    VinnySem Member For 2 Years

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2016
    Messages:
    144
    I think I'm going to stick to SS for TC mode. I had a small spool with a little bit of 26g Kanthal and wanted to experiment with. I find my overall vape experience to me much better on SS. I got some SS clapton wire from Lightning Vapes on Amazon for a really good price, and the vape from that is downright amazing. Really loving the Slice, though. Smoothest vape, none of the pulsing that I get with my eVic Vtwo mini. The VTwo is nice for when I need a small mod, but it's no where near the Slice. Now, if someone could take the FSK chip and throw it in a single 18650 form factor like the eVic, that's a winner right there!
     
  9. fq06

    fq06 Gold Contributor Member For 3 Years

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2014
    Messages:
    3,354
    If you like 316 claptons, you'd love 430 clapton wire from advanced vape supply.
     
    VinnySem likes this.
  10. VinnySem

    VinnySem Member For 2 Years

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2016
    Messages:
    144
    I'll have to give that a go!
     
    fq06 likes this.
  11. VinnySem

    VinnySem Member For 2 Years

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2016
    Messages:
    144
    Anyone know if there is are silicone sleeves for the hohmtech mods? I got vinyl wraps for two of mine, but I'm not really a fan, I'm too obsessive about them going on perfectly.
     
  12. fq06

    fq06 Gold Contributor Member For 3 Years

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2014
    Messages:
    3,354
    I haven't seen them, not a popular enough mod for the aftermarket companies to justify putting them on the market I guess.
     
  13. TrollDragon

    TrollDragon Silver Contributor Member For 3 Years ECF Refugee

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2015
    Messages:
    796
    Don't waste your time with that 181W upgrade, it's based on old firmware and has a really ugly boot logo.

    Months ago there was supposed to be an amazing new firmware just around the corner, but it never ever materialized...
     
    mjag and eStorm like this.
  14. eStorm

    eStorm Silver Contributor Member For 1 Year Reddit Exile

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2017
    Messages:
    861
    The a lot, I'll hold up on it then.
     
    TrollDragon likes this.
  15. VinnySem

    VinnySem Member For 2 Years

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2016
    Messages:
    144
    Have you used it? I see the FSK chip has a 430 setting. Is it that much different than a 316 wire of the same build type?
     
  16. fq06

    fq06 Gold Contributor Member For 3 Years

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2014
    Messages:
    3,354
    Yep, had a spool for a few months now. Compared to the same 26/30 or whatever those are, my 316 of the same size is good but the 430 is better controlled and smoother.
    Flavor I guess is all the same but the TC just works better with it. You can just tell the chip is having an easier time with it.
     
    TrollDragon likes this.
  17. fq06

    fq06 Gold Contributor Member For 3 Years

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2014
    Messages:
    3,354
    Use it in regular 430 mode with resistance locked.
     
    VinnySem and TrollDragon like this.
  18. VinnySem

    VinnySem Member For 2 Years

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2016
    Messages:
    144
    Yeah, just noticed they have a 430 mode. some fused clapton 430 wire getting delivered tomorrow!
     
    mjag and fq06 like this.
  19. VinnySem

    VinnySem Member For 2 Years

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2016
    Messages:
    144
  20. VinnySem

    VinnySem Member For 2 Years

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2016
    Messages:
    144
    I'd like to confirm, the G2 does not have USB charging? Neither of mine will charge via USB. The Slices do.
     
  21. gopher_byrd

    gopher_byrd Cranky Old Fart VU Donator Gold Contributor Member For 3 Years ECF Refugee

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2014
    Messages:
    1,743
    The USB on the G2 is strictly for FW upgrade not charging.
     
    gakudzu and VinnySem like this.
  22. bigbubba7373

    bigbubba7373 Member For 1 Year

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2017
    Messages:
    12
    so I used the Wayback Machine website to pull all the firmware files and the software updater's for the g2 and slice off of hohmtech's website so if anyone needs them let me know.
     
  23. bigbubba7373

    bigbubba7373 Member For 1 Year

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2017
    Messages:
    12
  24. mjag

    mjag Gold Contributor Member For 3 Years

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2015
    Messages:
    3,864
  25. bigbubba7373

    bigbubba7373 Member For 1 Year

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2017
    Messages:
    12
    no problem was more than happy to help everyone as hohmtech would not give me the files said I was out of luck
     
    mjag, Carmmond and BrewBear like this.
  26. bobbybouche

    bobbybouche New Member

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2018
    Messages:
    17
    hi guys, i have an atomizer that uses GR2 Ti but the ohmwrecker only has Ti mode. does that cover all grades of titanium or do i need to download some firmware maybe? thanks for your time!
     
  27. bigbubba7373

    bigbubba7373 Member For 1 Year

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2017
    Messages:
    12
    now if we could just get someone who knows about firmware to work on a new custom firmware we would be set
     
    OneBadWolf, TrollDragon and BrewBear like this.
  28. TrollDragon

    TrollDragon Silver Contributor Member For 3 Years ECF Refugee

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2015
    Messages:
    796
    Since they don't make mods anymore they should release the source code to the Arctic Fox people for improvement.
     
  29. jb58

    jb58 Member For 2 Years

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    May 15, 2016
    Messages:
    46
    Anyone interested Fuggin Vapor has 1 LE Slice left........had 3 but I bought 2
     
    MWorthington likes this.
  30. MWorthington

    MWorthington Silver Contributor Member For 2 Years ECF Refugee

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2016
    Messages:
    1,181
    It'll be long gone before I can order it. :(
     
  31. jb58

    jb58 Member For 2 Years

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    May 15, 2016
    Messages:
    46
    Blue one still there.
     
    MWorthington likes this.
  32. bobbybouche

    bobbybouche New Member

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2018
    Messages:
    17
    so my mod uses an FSK chip and im trying to use SS316L .i know im supposed to start with the tcr value for that wire and go from there but im terrible at math and could really use some help guys....

    thanks in advance!
     
  33. jb58

    jb58 Member For 2 Years

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    May 15, 2016
    Messages:
    46
    Which Mod do you have?
     
  34. bobbybouche

    bobbybouche New Member

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2018
    Messages:
    17
    its an ohmwrecker g2
     
  35. TrollDragon

    TrollDragon Silver Contributor Member For 3 Years ECF Refugee

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2015
    Messages:
    796
    Wreckers don't use TCR values. Have you tried the SS316 preset it works quite well.

    If you don't have the SS316 preset then you need to update the firmware on the G2. Unfortunately all the files are gone from Hohm Techs site, but there is a link on the first page of this thread with a zip file containing all the updates. The first page has good info on how to get TC working and it's just a matter of fine tuning from there. It does take some tweaking to get it working nicely.

    I rarely use my Wreckers these days, Replay mode on DNA devices has spoiled me from using TC on any other mod. Replay is just so easy to use and works a whole lot better IMHO.
     
    Letitia9 likes this.
  36. bobbybouche

    bobbybouche New Member

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2018
    Messages:
    17
    i have updated once about 6 months ago when i bought it however the preset doesnt say SS316, only SS. which could maybe be the same thing? except my wire is SS316L which is different i believe.

    also would you explain how replay mode works on your dna? thanks.
     
  37. jb58

    jb58 Member For 2 Years

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    May 15, 2016
    Messages:
    46
    If you update again it should show the different SS wire to choose from. Or run it in FSK mode and adjust until you get the vape you like dialed in.
     
    bobbybouche and TrollDragon like this.
  38. TrollDragon

    TrollDragon Silver Contributor Member For 3 Years ECF Refugee

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2015
    Messages:
    796
    The problem with stainless steel wire is there are so many variations of of the wire especially between manufacturers. SS316L for example can have a 16 - 18% Chromium content and 10 - 14% Nickle, so a wire with an 18/10 ratio will work differently under TC than a wire with 16/14 ratio. That's why stainless is not the best wire for TC but it is the most versatile, as it can be used in power or TC mode.

    A generic SS setting on most mods never really works well since SS304, 316, 316L, 317 and 430 all have different compositions. SS430 has the highest TCR value out of all the SS wires and the lowest Nickle content, it is the best for TC but harder to find.

    Since the Wrecker doesn't allow you to enter TCR values you have to either pick the proper preset and hope for the best or go into xXx mode and set the FSK values by hand. Testing and trying different values (Start low and increase in small amounts) until you get the vape you like. It's a bit of a PiTA but the Wrecker can TC any type of wire with a little work.

    Replay mode on the DNA 75C or 250C is amazing.

    1. You put a build in your atty, it doesn't matter which TC wire you use but it has to be a TC wire.
    2. Set the cold resistance of the coil.
    3. Vape it and see if it is what you want, turn the wattage up or down to taste.
    5. When you have found a vape you like hit Save and TC under Replay is all set up.

    Every vape after that will be the same, as the coil gets low on juice the DNA will limit power to the coil to prevent a dry hit.
    It's just that easy, no TCR values to enter or wire type to select, unless you want to fine tune the temperature then you would run Replay under a TC profile, but that is extra work IMHO and not really needed.
     
    mjag, bobbybouche and Letitia9 like this.
  39. bobbybouche

    bobbybouche New Member

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2018
    Messages:
    17

    thanks so much for being so detailed in your reply. to be clear, im supposed to find my FSK starting point by converting the tcr numbers to percentages first right? or do you just start from zero and work up to 100?
     
  40. jb58

    jb58 Member For 2 Years

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    May 15, 2016
    Messages:
    46
    TCR has no meaning with FSK. I would start around 8.0 on the FSK setting and work up from there. I have a 6 wrap SS316L build that ohms out at .19 and I am running 46 watts, 400* with the FSK at 11.5 in xxx mode.
     
    TrollDragon and gopher_byrd like this.
  41. bobbybouche

    bobbybouche New Member

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2018
    Messages:
    17

    I see. The only thing that confuses me then is how FSK % changes the vape compared to adjusting wattage/temp? i know what turning up the temp does, and i know what the wattage does, but what does fsk ACTUALLY do, ya know? the third variable makes it a little harder to find my sweetspot...
     
  42. mjag

    mjag Gold Contributor Member For 3 Years

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2015
    Messages:
    3,864
    Like mentioned before if you are using SS wire update you mod with the link in the first post to the latest firmware and select SS316 which is what you mentioned.

    In XXX mode you can find your sweet spot as well but when using SS I just use the presets. If I recall correctly I used 12.5 FSK for SS316 and adjusted from there. Too hot turn FSK down, not hot enough turn it up. It is simple if you don't over think it, just up or down on the FSK, that's it.

    Edit: it says SS in the preset but when you select it then it gives you the option of 304, 316, 317 and 430. Choose 316 and vape on

    Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk
     
    TrollDragon likes this.
  43. bobbybouche

    bobbybouche New Member

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2018
    Messages:
    17
    thanks for the help man! it wont seem to let me update to the 5.5.7 version however..... i updated to version 5.5.5 or whichever was raymo2u's latest version awhile back but his link does not include the latest version and i am having trouble with the link in the thread.

    it says i do not have the software to open a .dfu file or whatever that means....is there anywhere else i may be able to find it?
     
  44. bobbybouche

    bobbybouche New Member

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2018
    Messages:
    17
    i finally figured out the fsk% i believe but i am still stuck with the 5.5.5 version and cannot get the latest update to work for some reason. this means i dont get any options for my stainless steel presets. if anybody can help me figure out what im doing wrong id greatly appreciate the deed.
     
  45. 5150sick

    5150sick Under Ground Hustler Staff Member Senior Moderator VU Donator Platinum Contributor Member For 3 Years ECF Refugee Mod Team Leader

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2014
    Messages:
    8,693
    So when you get to the screen that has SS NI W etc.. and you click on SS the option the options: 304ss, 316ss, 317ss, and 430ss aren't there?
     
  46. bobbybouche

    bobbybouche New Member

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2018
    Messages:
    17
    thats correct, im not sure if its 2.5.5 version in general or what but mine arent there

    EDIT: i have downloaded the 2.5.7 version but cant figure out how to download it as my mod wont link to cpu
     
  47. bobbybouche

    bobbybouche New Member

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2018
    Messages:
    17
    20$ paypal to anybody who can help me get this thing updated.
     
  48. mjag

    mjag Gold Contributor Member For 3 Years

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2015
    Messages:
    3,864
    There is a YouTube video hohmtech put out that shows you how to update. I might have linked it in the OP but forgot to check prior to responding. Either way if it is not in the OP you can search it on YT. You have to turn on the upgrade port on the mod via the menu to do the update. Easiest way is to watch the YT vid while performing the update.

    Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk
     
  49. bobbybouche

    bobbybouche New Member

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2018
    Messages:
    17
    i believe i did try to click on the link and it shows the video as no longer available but i will try again with a youtube search.
     
  50. bobbybouche

    bobbybouche New Member

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2018
    Messages:
    17
    i got it to work finally! turned out it was a simple usb connection error. thanks for all the helpful info guys. love the G2!
     
    TrollDragon and mjag like this.

Share This Page

Close This Message