Hohm Wrecker in, not impressed

Discussion in 'Regulated (Voltage / Wattage / 3.7v/ Temp Control)' started by DevilDogDoc, Dec 13, 2015.

  1. DevilDogDoc

    DevilDogDoc New Member

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2015
    Messages:
    20
    Got my new mod today, speedy ship for sure but the damn thing is a dud. Fresh batteries in it, the LG's HE I believe gives me a check battery error like they are low. I put in some 25 r's, same thing. I can see the voltage going up and down on the mod without touching the fire button, which rattles to boot. Glad I got it through Vaporcube for cheap at least but a little pissed I have to pay shipping both ways to get it fixed/replaced. I guess we'll see what happens but they get exactly one chance to fix this and that's it. Not gong to spend more money back and for with this. Batteries are fine in my Sig 150 so I doubt it's the cells. Anyone run into this issue before? I've searched and not found much, hoping its just a bad board and I just got unlucky.
     
    Edd Harbin likes this.
  2. Cloudy Peak Vapes

    Cloudy Peak Vapes Gold Contributor Member For 3 Years Unlisted Vendor

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2014
    Messages:
    2,025
    Sorry to hear that. At least Vapor Cube is the manufacturing partner I believe, and you got a great deal, but the shipping fees suck.

    I've had one for a while now, and it's second in TC to my DNA200's. It's never so much as had a glitch on me, so I'm guessing you just got a bad one. It's a well made box, you did well on price, and I think you'll be happy once the new one arrives. Good luck!
     
  3. DevilDogDoc

    DevilDogDoc New Member

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2015
    Messages:
    20
    Thanks, waiting to hear back from them as we speak...I would like to think I just got a bad one shit does happen.
     
  4. DevilDogDoc

    DevilDogDoc New Member

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2015
    Messages:
    20
    Whelp I have sent it in, over the phone they assured me it was a battery bridge problem and that they would replace it and flash the firmware to the newest version that came out this week. Waived the $8 fee without me asking but it still cost me $10 to send it in. Oh well as long as it works when I get it back I'm cool. We will see how long it sits there, they got it at 1130 today.
     
    MorpheusPA likes this.
  5. woodyt74

    woodyt74 Obsessive? Who me? VU Donator Bronze Contributor

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2015
    Messages:
    249
    I had the same problem with mine and for the first two months of ownership Vaporcube had it more than I did. It took three tries with three different problems but the check battery problem was a constant. The third time they waived the $8 dollar fee, kept it for a week, claimed a co-designer of the software used it for three days straight without a problem saying the only thing they did was re-flash the firmware for the third time. They offered me a new black replacement for my orange one and I told them if I wanted a black one I would have bought it. Told them if it was working as they said send it back and they did along with Holm Work batteries made to their specifications. Bottom line is it works but you can NOT get it to fire below 55 to 60% battery level and others have reported this problem as well. I wish you luck with your new one, which won't happen right away BTW, they will "fix" it multiple times before they will replace it. I've owned 8 mods and this is the biggest waste of money purchase I've made. :mad::mad::mad::mad:
     
  6. DevilDogDoc

    DevilDogDoc New Member

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2015
    Messages:
    20
    Well as I said before they get this one shot at fixing it then I move on. They are insistent that the issue is in the battery bridge which they are putting a newer version of in along with the newest firmware. After this I will either use the 30 money back guarantee or they can swap it with the new V2 for me but that's it. I'm not fucking around with this thing until they get it right. My old Sig 150 fired the first time out of the box and has been solid since then, no reason for me to be their beta tester. I don't think it's unreasonable to expect this one to perform like my Sig has.
     
  7. woodyt74

    woodyt74 Obsessive? Who me? VU Donator Bronze Contributor

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2015
    Messages:
    249
    Smart move and I agree 100%. My Sig 150 has also been old reliable for me. Best wishes!
     
  8. DevilDogDoc

    DevilDogDoc New Member

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2015
    Messages:
    20
    Well got it back today and all seems to be right. Vaping good at 65 watts where I ran my Sig at 75 for the same hits. No issues so far except I seem to need more battery to run it, I ran them down to about 30 % before the mod said to replace them, on the Sig I could run it down into the teens before it wouldn't fire. Small issue, I have plenty of batteries. Enjoying it so far, shall see how it holds up!
     
  9. Wingsfan0310

    Wingsfan0310 Gold Contributor Member For 3 Years

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2014
    Messages:
    4,228
    It could be as simple as the way the battery meter/bar is calibrated. Could also be if your running more watts (higher drain) you are getting more sag, thus triggering the low battery message. Could also be the 2 different mods have different low voltage cutoffs programmed into their respective chips. The only way to know for sure why that's happening would be to run the exact same setup, with the same batteries in the 2 mods. When you get the message, pull the batteries and check their voltage with a DMM.

    Cheers,
    Steve
     
    Cloudy Peak Vapes and Mykline like this.
  10. DevilDogDoc

    DevilDogDoc New Member

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2015
    Messages:
    20
    Well this is what I am discovering. My 25r's can run down to 48-50 %if I'm at 60-65 watts. My LG's can go to 30% at the same. On my Sig they can go a lot lower before it tells me to recharge. So it's going back, this just isn't going to work for me which is too bad because besides the battery issues I really like the mod. Gonna see what they do for me.
    Sigh
     
  11. DevilDogDoc

    DevilDogDoc New Member

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2015
    Messages:
    20
    So I got new batteries, it worked ok for a while. Now I dropped it from my hand onto a tile floor. The plastic terminal the holds the positive post in place broke. Piece of shit!! Literally the fist time it fell, it broke. I have dropped my Sig dozens of times, dented the box even but it still fires. So now they want me to send it in for about $25 with shipping or they can send me the parts for $8 bucks and I can solder it myself. I have had this mod a month, have used it about 3 weeks cause it was in the shop already 10 days. Fuck this, fuck Hohm tech and their piece of shit over rated,over hyped mod. What pisses me off the most is that CS at Vaporcube is aware that these terminals are fragile, having said as much to me. So ready for the 10th floor drop huh? I am seeing why they rushed out a V2 so quickly after the original launched. It's not a V2, its a V1 with some of the problems fixed and an adjusted price. Like a fool I fell for it at $70. Oh well at least I am only out $100 not the $200 the old price was. Lesson learned, stick with the big players and don't buy shit that doesn't have many reviews.
     
  12. ddloco

    ddloco Member For 3 Years

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2014
    Messages:
    29
    Sounds like u got a bad one i just got the g2 and i love tc kanthal it tastes clesner. I wouldnt be fooled by the "American made" moniker people put devic3s like thease up on a pedestal then say American made im from america and i could give a shit where somethings made people act like americans dont do shaddy stuff yes they do with greed

    Sent from my SM-N910T using Tapatalk
     
  13. DevilDogDoc

    DevilDogDoc New Member

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2015
    Messages:
    20
    Got my Whiteout SX today hits hard and feels good in the hand. No issues so far looks great and works as it should out of the box. Unlike my piece of shit Hohmwrecker. I'll update if something changes.......
     
  14. jamezcua12

    jamezcua12 Member For 1 Year

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2016
    Messages:
    85
    U don't happen to have the number to call them

    Sent from my SM-G955U using Tapatalk
     
  15. Just Frank

    Just Frank Silver Contributor

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2017
    Messages:
    832
    Whats the difference between the Homewrecker / homewrecker G2 / Holmslice?
     
  16. skt239

    skt239 VU Donator Platinum Contributor Member For 2 Years

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2015
    Messages:
    5,429
    Homewrecker - duel 18650 and 151w and tc for ni (not sure about SS)


    G2 - same boxy shape as the original but has the FSK chip that supposed to TC anything and fires super low

    Slice - Same functions as g2, 101w, single 26650
     

Share This Page

Close This Message