Become a Patron!

How do YOU polish?

I'm new to the world of mods, my first is on the way, actually! So my question is, how do you care for your mod? Cleaning, polishing, I want to know it all! I'm starting with a stainless steel setup, but I want to try copper and/or brass, eventually, so care tips and tricks for all metals are appreciated! Thanks!!!

StrappedKaos

Member For 4 Years
Member For 3 Years
Member For 2 Years
Member For 1 Year
Member For 5 Years
I own copper/brass/ss/aluminum. I have found they can all be cleaned with the same compounds but each one i use something different and different ways.
Aluminum I dont use anymore but mother metal or nano style polish and a med. Speed dremel/buffer wheel are fast and easy.
Ss I use either mother see way with dremel or hand polish with grain and use cape cod.
Brass I started day one with a old moonshiner trick to delead it then use a 3m soft rubbing compound and after first time cape cod regularly. If you let it patina then brasso/mothers with dremel cuts patina fast but can remove slight metal.
Copper I use a home made compound and then follow with cape cod, if you stay up cape cod is an easy way to protect and clean. Im sure others have better ways so I stand to learn also

Chowder

Silver Contributor
Member For 4 Years
Member For 3 Years
Member For 2 Years
Member For 1 Year
Member For 5 Years
Well, I usually polish by using a sock or other.....No wait, we are talking ablut mods here, right? Alrighty then, I use a microfiber cloth and toothbrush to clean my mods. Stainless usually does not need a polishing compound unless you are trying to get scratches out. Phill Busardo did a video in where he gives a great review for a polish he was using, but for the life of me I can't find it on his site now. Does anyone know which video I'm talking about? However, I've always been happy with using Flitz Polish. It works great for all metals and puts a real shine to it. Find it here:

https://www.flitz-polish.com/