Become a Patron!

How does vaping help quit smoking if nicotine isn't addictive.

So I see a lot of studies and such that suggest nicotine alone isn't addictive, or at least no where near what the government would have you believe. Now it's common knowledge at this point that there are other addictive compounds inside of cigarettes, but many suggest that nicotine isn't one of them in reality. However if this were to be the case, then how would vaping or any other way to quit smoking such as patches and gum, help quit at all? Also if a lot of the reason smoking is so addictive is because of the other addictive chemicals, then the same question is still true. As eliquid and things such as patches dont contain those compounds.

Synphul

Gold Contributor
Member For 4 Years
I'm no scientist or doctor but there's many aspects to a habit. They often talk about smoking in terms of nicotine addiction but it's more than that. It's the habit surrounding it, reaching for a pack, lighting up at key times of the day (waking, going to bed, after dinner), it's tapping a pack. All those things combined make up the 'habit'. Ever try to get someone to stop popping their knuckles, chewing on a pen or chewing their fingernails? Nothing to do with nicotine or addictive substances, it's about kicking a habit. Smoking combines both addictive substances and habits.

Many people still struggle when quitting with patches or gum because it only addresses a small portion, the nicotine. It doesn't satisfy the surrounding actions people are used to. Vaping provides the nicotine as well as the inhale, exhale etc. Gives people something to hold instead of a cig, a pack of smokes.