Become a Patron!

How to know what wattage to Vape?

RubenAlonzo

Member For 4 Years
Greetings Everyone, Ruben here and I am new to the Vaping realm having owned several of the inexpensive "Pen" style vaporizers. I am 46, and have been smoking since I was 14 due to trying to impress a girl, she only liked me as a friend but I was hooked on smokes. I have been trying off and on for a few years to quit smoking and the pen style inexpensive vaporizers always left a 'gritty' feeling in my throat when I tried them.

Today, my wife of 28 years (who smokes as well) gifted me my first real honest to goodness vaporizer, the SMOK AL85. I am blown away! This has no gritty taste, the liquid we bought at the shop has 12mg nicotine and I have not had a cigarrette since we purchased it earlier this afternoon.

My question is this: At what wattage should I be vaping at? My manual states that the AL85 stock coils are best at between 55-65 watts. I have been vaping at about 40 watts and enjoying it. How do you know if the wattage is too low or too high? Does the tip get hot if I am using too high a wattage? Does liquid not atomize or burn up correctly to give me that nicotine satisfaction if I am using too low a wattage?

Thank you all in advance for A: Reading this, and B: Having me as a part of this forum where I hope to learn and one day contribute. Cheers!

Mattp169

Platinum Contributor
Vape Media
Member For 5 Years
its all about what you like
there is no right answer. the recommended 55-65 watts is a guide line and basically what alot of people will enjoy
what most suggest is start low and keep turning it up until it either tastes worse or doesnt taste any better TO YOU
If you go to 45 and it tastes bad to you the 40 is good for you
Yes some coils need at least a certain amount of power to even fire and work at all.
yes turning the watts up too high will burn the coil and cotton and make you need a new coil