Become a Patron!

Incompatible wire gauges?

BananaRoo

Member For 2 Years
Member For 1 Year
I'm sorry I have to start a new thread, I replied this in a thread that seemed suitable but I don't think anyone has seen my comment, the thread id pretty old, so here we go, I will paste my question here:

"Hello people, I have a problem with my tfv8 baby rba and 30 gauge wire, so I thought I'd ask here and not start a new thread.
I'm new to building first of all and this rba is my first. So I'm trying to make 0.7 build (1.4 for each coil) with 30 g kanthal. When I install the coils they read 0.10 though (and 0.17 when just one coil is installed but that seems to fluctuate, sometimes it reads as low as 0.01, it gets crazy)! I tried 28 g kanthal too and every coil reads like it's supposed to.
Are there any limitations as far as gauge or ohms the tfv8 baby rba will go? Or am I doing something wrong?
(Btw I installed premade 28 gauge 1.4 coils too and they work fine so either I just can't build 30 gauge or the rba won't read 30 gauge correcly cause it's too thin??)"

Please I need an answer soon because this atomizer is new and I would hate to have to buy another one and keep this one as a spare, it was pretty expensive too! I'm currently using it as a single coil mtl (yes I know...I like it airy anyway!)

Thank you!

zephyr

Dirty Pirate Meg
VU Donator
Gold Contributor
Member For 4 Years
Unlisted Vendor
Your coil wire is touching the RBA housing somewhere it shouldnt, causing a short. Can you get pictures? If not, just triple check your 30 gauge coil is not touching Anything except where the ends are screwed in.

The Cromwell

I am a BOT
VU Donator
Diamond Contributor
Member For 4 Years
The atomizer may not be clamping down tightly enough on 30 ga wire.
but it sounds like you have a coil shorting oot to the chamber housing or the case of the atomizer.

zephyr

Dirty Pirate Meg
VU Donator
Gold Contributor
Member For 4 Years
Unlisted Vendor