Become a Patron!

Is it okay to be under the ranges on my tank?

So I’m new to modern vaping. I used to use EVOD pens a few years ago, before they even had those dials. So really I don’t know anything about temp control, or wattage, and here I am with a brand new T-PRIV. I’m not even sure what this tank is, but it says SMOK; 0.4Ohm, 40-80W, Best 55-65W.

The guy told me to start low, to let the coil warm up. So I was at 10 for a bit, then 15 on so on for the first day. Today I’ve been at 30W all day, and now I’m on 35. It’s crackling more now. It didn’t at all on 20. Some of the tiny droplets of liquid at hot enough to hurt a bit, and it looks like the temp is set at 580F.

Basically, I’m wondering if I should turn the temp down at all. Or if I should even try vaping at 55, since it says best results are 55-65W. Will it hurt anything (besides my lips) to turn it up that high? Or is leaving it on 30-35W okay?

John C

VU Donator
Silver Contributor
Member For 4 Years
More knowledgeable people regarding this setup will probably chime in. For me, though I havent vaped a factory-coil tank in a while, I always used to vape under the recommended wattage.

For this coil you have in now, Id say vape where you like, including 30 or whatever. Then on the next coil, start off at 30 and go up from there, hitting 50, or whatever you like. Of course on a new coil, you'll want to wait a few minutes for the juice to saturate the coil.

gbalkam

Gold Contributor
Member For 4 Years
ECF Refugee
Reddit Exile
Sounds like the coil is flooded. Fire it for 1 or 2 seconds without puffing. Then try it normally. You can also blow out through your coil to burn off excess juice.
With all coils, start at low power and work your way up to where you like the vape. You can pretty much ignore what the coil says, that is just a guide line for purchasing. Example.. you wouldnt want a coil recommened for 120w if your box only goes to 80w.