Become a Patron!

I've got a question for the cooks in the room...

nadalama

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Senior Moderator
VU Donator
Diamond Contributor
Member For 4 Years
VU Patreon
I'm a decent cook. There've been many times, when my kids were little and we were poor as church mice, that I was able to come up with something good to eat out of just whatever was left in the house.

Thirty years down the road, I find that I've gotten better over the years at making up recipes for stews and soups, stuff that just kinda instinctively makes sense to me and ends up being pretty tasty. So I suppose you could say I'm kind of an "instinctive" cook. That's not to say that I don't cook with recipes; many times I do, but many times I don't, too.

So my first juice that I mixed up the other day is going to be good. It's only a couple days old, but it's good and I think it's going to get a lot better if I can just make myself stay out of it long enough for it to properly steep. I didn't use someone else's recipe; rather, I just thought about it and made up my own after I sat here with a pen and paper and figured out the mix and ratio of flavors I thought would be good together. (The recipe is for a Sweet Cinnamon, has cinnamon, french vanilla, lemonade, and graham cracker, plus a tiny bit of sweetener.)

My question is, are there any other folks who cook by the seat of their pants, who've ended up being pretty good at mixing juice, specifically at coming up with their own recipes? Do you think one has anything to do with the other, or was I just lucky with a decent first mix? I'm perfectly prepared to acknowledge that I was lucky, so please don't take this as arrogance on my part. I know I'm brand spanking new at this and fully expect to make things that have to be dumped at some point.

Whatever your opinion, I'll appreciate the feedback.

Jane

jojosvapes

Drippopotamus
VU Donator
Bronze Contributor
Member For 2 Years
Member For 1 Year
ECF Refugee
Reddit Exile