Become a Patron!

Kanger ssocc Ni200 coil

DonBaldy

Platinum Contributor
Member For 4 Years
For my first post here I have some questions about temperature for the Ni200 ssocc coil. Where do I start?

Is there any reason to use the nickel coils over what I'm currently using?

I'm a noob to the vaping world but I'm loving it. It's helped me kick a 30 year and 2-3 pack per day habit. I'm using and evic VTC mini with a Kanger sub tank mini. After I used up the included coils I've been using the ssocc .5 clapton but I'd like to try the nickel coil purely for curiosity and learning since I have one.

Thank you for any assistance.

f1r3b1rd

https://cookingwithlegs.com/
Staff member
Senior Moderator
VU Donator
Diamond Contributor
VU Challenge Team
Member For 5 Years
VU Patreon
congrats on kicking the smokes! that's what its about and the most important part. the rest is just a hobby that some of s get infected with.

nickel was used first and most often because it has a perfectly linear relationship of temperature and resistance.
as the metal heats up, its resistance raises at a constant rate. this allows the board to measure the starting resistance and measure the change then use that information to calculate the temperature. All of the temp control mods work on that principal.
some, will let you load in a TCR value, the tcr is the ratio of change in resistance to change in temperature.
having a mod that does that opens up the doors to many different metals.

right now stainless steel is popular because its cheap, readily available, easy to work with, and doesn't alter tha taste in juice.

now, you don't have to swap to tc if you don't want to, in fact being new to vaping I would suggest that you wait until you till you get a little more familiar with the equipment.
whatever you do DO NOT USE THE NICKEL (NI200) COIL IN WATTAGE MODE. The resistance is so low that it is almost a dead short, and can really mess up your mod.