Become a Patron!

Lesson learned!

mrsfogy

Member For 3 Years
Member For 2 Years
So I'm DIYing (total newb, only made about 4 batches of "stuff"). I heard somewhere along the line that if I wanted to get to know what a flavor tastes like that it won't hurt to just taste a small amount on the tip of my tongue. Uhm, ugh, ewww, and OMG I have to get this taste out of my mouth. hahahaha I don't think I've ran that fast to the bathroom in a VERY long time.

Lesson learned...do NOT taste test Shirley Temple on the tip of my tongue!! Ha! ::shivers::

Huckleberried

VU Donator
Diamond Contributor
Member For 5 Years
VU Patreon
So I'm DIYing (total newb, only made about 4 batches of "stuff"). I heard somewhere along the line that if I wanted to get to know what a flavor tastes like that it won't hurt to just taste a small amount on the tip of my tongue. Uhm, ugh, ewww, and OMG I have to get this taste out of my mouth. hahahaha I don't think I've ran that fast to the bathroom in a VERY long time.

Lesson learned...do NOT taste test Shirley Temple on the tip of my tongue!! Ha! ::shivers::
LOL PG bite, huh? I've dipped a toothpick in a flavoring to get an idea of it, but yeah that sometimes backfires. Put a bit in a spoonful of water maybe, or just mix up a 5ml sample size.

lirruping

Gold Contributor
Member For 5 Years
I put a drop or two in mug of warm water. It's never horribly unpleasant, at least, and I get an idea of what it's like.

Kinser

Member For 4 Years
Member For 3 Years
ECF Refugee
Whoever gave you that advice doesn't know what they are talking about. To understand a flavor, and what it will taste like in a vape, or what notes it will impart to a vape, it is my experience it is best to mix up a sample bottle of the flavor in question. About 5mL should do it, and generally we're looking in the 1-5% range depending on flavor.

jambi

Bronze Contributor
Member For 4 Years
ECF Refugee