Become a Patron!

Limitless RDTA + Build Question

I have a kangertech topbox mini with a limitless rdta plus. I was told that because my mod only possesses one battery, I would need to use thinner wire in order to maximize my battery. My preferred ohms range is anywhere between 0.3-0.5, preferably as close to 0.3 as I can get. On the original rda which came with the kangertech (before I installed the rdta plus), I was able to produce a single coil build at 0.3 ohms, so I assumed that on a theoretically better rdta, I should be able to obtain the same results. This has not been the case. While I am relatively new to coil building, I do not necessarily believe that I am bad at building coils, so to speak. Using a coil jig, tweezers, and what I believe to be correct coiling and wicking methods, I have not been able to produce a build which puts out anything below 0.74 ohms on 28 ga wire. A friend of mine built a coil for me on 24 ga a while back which clocked in at 0.51 ohms. I have tried everything between 4-8 wraps, and have not been able to reach a desirable ohms reading. I can currently run it on 0.74 @ 35 watts, which is alright, but honestly I used to run that wattage on an ecig and I bought this mod to produce more vapor than a cheap pen. I was wondering if I either need to change my wire, my coil-building techniques, or if there is some other underlying issue.

gopher_byrd

Cranky Old Fart
VU Donator
Diamond Contributor
ECF Refugee
Member For 5 Years
VU Patreon
Using 28 gauge with dual coils you are looking at 3 wrap on each with a 2 mm inner diameter to get 0.3 ohms. I would suggest getting some larger wire to hit your target like 24 gauge. Check out steam-engine for coil math. http://www.steam-engine.org/

nightshard

It's VG/PG not PG/VG
VU Donator
Gold Contributor
Member For 4 Years
28g Kanthal is too thin for 0.3