Become a Patron!

Looking for a way to test ohms on coils prior to installing them?

I have been vaping for around 8 months and have successfully quit smoking. I have basically traded my by habit for a stupid expensive hobby. But I love it. I have been building for almost as long as I have been vaping but I am still learning so I am still trying to play as safe as possible. So far aside from normal single wire builds or buying roils of Clapton wire I have not jumped into building my own coils. I generally by premade coils. One thing I have noticed especially from the mass produced china coils is the ohms are way off. I generally find out after I install on my rda and check them on the meter. At that point I decide not to put it on my build because I don't feel safe with it and in some cases I don't even have anything that will read it. So to my question, what is the best way to go through and test the coils prior to installing them and starting over?

Iliketurtles

Silver Contributor
Member For 4 Years
Believe it or not it is cheaper to make your own and it isn't difficult. Fused claptons and staple coils will vape as good as anything and don't take long to learn. They also last a long time, easily a month if you make your own high quality ones - which incidentally will be superior to the china ones. But if you want to keep using china ones you have to condition the coils before you vape them, you can't test them before they are conditioned because there are lots of touching wraps and they will give a false reading. Once conditioned the wire will be only conducting end to end instead of arcing between wraps, then you get a true reading.

Giraut

Gold Contributor
Member For 4 Years
Ohm meter with alligator clips. on the end of legs