Become a Patron!

Lunch box idea... DNA 200 question?

borderlinepro

Member For 3 Years
Member For 2 Years
Member For 1 Year
hey everyone, in the works of a dna lunch box with a hose to the 510... lots of grueling research has already been done...

My question is: Ill have 6ft power + and power - going from the chip to the 510... using 14 gauge copper wire. wire resistance is about .02 ohms.

Will this work? or will it cause problems?? i can post pics of a wiring diagram i worked on if someone chimes in ;)

borderlinepro

Member For 3 Years
Member For 2 Years
Member For 1 Year
SNAWIREDIAGRAMfinal.jpg

TechnoGeek

Member For 3 Years
Member For 2 Years
Member For 1 Year
Ok, I'm not too surprised no one as answered.

Let me preface my post with this... I am no expert, on vaping, electronics, or the DNA200....

That said, I am a network engineer, electronics is a hobby of mine, I love technology/gadgets....

While I think it's a really great idea, and I had thought about something similar I don't think it would work well, especially with something like the DNA200.

Here is why I think it would have issues.... The DNA200 is a VERY accurate device, and has to be, given the way it does temperature control with a material like stainless steel. So while the the resistance of 6 foot of copper wire isn't TOO high(about .01515 ohms for 6ft ), it will not consistently be .01515 ohms, it will fluctuate based on temperature AND this temperature fluctuation will vary based on the exact composition of the copper wire you use.

I know, you're probably thinking.... Yeah but, .01515 is SO small. You're right, but on a DNA200 that is a HUGE amount! An amount of .005 ohms can be the difference between temperature control working, or not!

Below is a screen shot from escribe, highlighted is the amount of resistance that is added from the DNA200 device itself, just by the board, the TINY wire(an inch or so...) connecting the board to the 510 pin, and the 510 itself......