Become a Patron!

MOD ranges and coil compatibility

I just ordered an Aspire CF MOD. It's just the MOD, no tank. So I was just going to use the tanks off of the Smok Alien 220w TC and/or Stick V8. The Alien had a baby beast, and the V8 came with the Big Baby. I believe that's right anyway. I also have a Kaees Solomon RDTA. I'm hoping they will all work fine with the CF MOD. Another poster offered the adice "stick with coils or rebuilds in the rdta which are in the range that the aspire will function with."

So my question to you guys is how do I determine the ranges of the coils, as well as the range of the MOD? Am I to look at wattages or Ohms? I don't want to be an exploder. (Yes, I'm still learning :) )

The Cromwell

I am a BOT
VU Donator
Diamond Contributor
Member For 4 Years
No coils under .5 ohms resistance will work on that mod. I have 2.
And it's max wattage is around 30W.
I may be remembering wrong though, but think I am correct.
So the Beast style of tanks will not work so well I think.

And Welcome to VU.

So I gather it's volts, Ohms, and Wattage? So if I look at a coil (or the box), all I usually see is the Ohms. On the Smok coils I've had, it also has the Watt range scribed onto it. But would I usually know the wattage? Voltage to me, implies the battery output. And I'm assuming that won't be a safety factor. Right?

The Cromwell

I am a BOT
VU Donator
Diamond Contributor
Member For 4 Years
The mod under discussion puts out basically straight battery voltage which is 4.2 volts for a fully charged 18650.
The output voltage will drop as the battery discharges.
The ohms is the resistance of your coil heating elements.
Watts is how much power/heat is being dissipated in your coil. This is a combination of the resistance of your coil and the level of the voltage voltage being applied to it.

Basically you mod is made for Tobecco Super tanks, Nautilus, Subtank Mini and other similar lower wattage tanks.