Become a Patron!

Mom complains about RBA burning her throat

champton

Bronze Contributor
Member For 4 Years
Hey guys, my mom is using a TFV8 (finally nailed how to build on that sucker, LOL!) and she's complaining about the coil burning the back of her throat when she inhales, even at 40 watts. It's not a dry hit - there's juice in the tank. I used 2 7-wrap 26g Kanthal coils and they're reading 0.72 ohms. What can I do to make the experience better for her? This is my first time (successfully) building on an RBA.

Last edited:

JuicyLucy

My name is Lucy and I am a squonkaholic
VU Donator
Diamond Contributor
ECF Refugee
VU Challenge Team
Member For 5 Years
Is she a new vaper?

Many can't take sub ohm vaping at first. In fact, IME, the vast majority need well above 1 ohm, say at least 1.5

champton

Bronze Contributor
Member For 4 Years
She's not a new vaper, she has been doing so for a little over 3 years now. It's just the first time she's done it on a rebuildable. Her Q4s go down to 0.4 and her Crown 3s go as low as 0.28. She can handle those quite well, so I wouldn't say it's that.

However, they do wrap the cotton quite loosely I've noticed. I'm having to wick quite a bit tighter than I usually would, maybe it's burning through the cotton easier? Could that have something to do with it?

Also, a friend of mine says there's no reason it should be reading above 0.6. He suggested I try a lower gauge wire, say 24g.

Letitia9

Citrus Junkie
VU Donator
Platinum Contributor
Member For 4 Years
VU Challenge Team
Sometimes just going up 2-3 watts will smooth out th.

KingPin!

In my defence, I was left unsupervised ^^
VU Donator
Platinum Contributor
Member For 4 Years
VU Challenge Team
Reviewer
Have you tried chain vaping it yourself champton? I know you said it's not a dry burnt hit but the deck is a PITA to wick right

Could try lowering wattage a bit as well if it's reading 0.6 ohms say 30-35w

Also could be airlocked try turning upside down and back again