Become a Patron!

My cats spilled coffee on my battery charger

giffer.dub

Member For 4 Years
Member For 3 Years
Member For 2 Years
Member For 1 Year
Alright so I was about halfway done with a cup of coffee whem I realized I had to pick up my lady from work. So naturally fearing her wrath if I am late I hop in my car and go. Well I get back home and my cats have spilled my coffee into my charger which had two samsung 25r 18650 batteries on it charging. The chart won't function whatsoever and the battery wraps have coffee stains on them thiugh I vigorously tried dying them off. I am no battery expert and ill admit I'm worried that the coffee will make my battery explode. I don't know If that's me overthinking or something that could actually happen so I figured someone here could help me out.

Sent from my SCH-S968C using Tapatalk

giffer.dub

Member For 4 Years
Member For 3 Years
Member For 2 Years
Member For 1 Year
Thank you so much!

Sent from my SCH-S968C using Tapatalk

dr_rox

VU Donator
Bronze Contributor
Member For 4 Years
Water is not a conductor until something is dissolved in it that is ionic, like salt.
The best way to clean the batteries is with anhydrous isopropyl alcohol and then dry. Same thing with charger. Drying the parts with dry compressor air via a blowgun is also a good thing. Not the canned shit since it will produce condensation.
DO NOT DO THIS WHERE THERE IS AN OPEN FLAME. Under a ventilation hood or outside is better, and avoid breathing in the fumes.