Become a Patron!

My flavours just dont "pop"

Disturbance

Member For 4 Years
Is it just me?
Ive been making my own juices for over 2 years, mostly using Flavourart and following a lot of HICs recipes.
I do have a few other brands of flavour but mostly just stick to FA.
I have tried various ratios of PG to VG, doubling and even tripling the flavour quantities but they just dont really "pop" like some of the commercial bought flavours. Ive used a variety of mods and tanks, currently using a DNA200 Therion with a Goon.
Anyone got any ideas?

xpen

Bronze Contributor
Member For 3 Years
Member For 2 Years
Commercial juices probably add some flavor enhancers/correctors, I think..
Sweeteners, PH control, aftertaste (bitter, acidic, fresh, ...), god knows what else.
Some of those are available to the general public, but you must know what you're doing since they introduce so many additional variables to 'simple' flavor mixing

MagicJosh

Silver Contributor
Member For 4 Years
Is it just me?
Ive been making my own juices for over 2 years, mostly using Flavourart and following a lot of HICs recipes.
I do have a few other brands of flavour but mostly just stick to FA.
I have tried various ratios of PG to VG, doubling and even tripling the flavour quantities but they just dont really "pop" like some of the commercial bought flavours. Ive used a variety of mods and tanks, currently using a DNA200 Therion with a Goon.
Anyone got any ideas?
Add 1 percent sweetner. (Sucralose. and make sure you make your juice with a at least one strong note to stand alone on top of all your flavors in your recipe.

Huckleberried

VU Donator
Diamond Contributor
Member For 5 Years
VU Patreon
Strange as it may sound, doubling and tripling can diminish the taste and make it taste muted out.

Were you mixing HIC's stuff as written? I used to need to use a bit more than HIC, but quickly started mixing them as written and my taste buds adjusted to that.