Become a Patron!

(New Builder) Looking for help

I am trying to make a Mod for my son and hit a bit of a wall.

I am new at wiring and electronics in general so I'm probably screwing something easy up.

I'm using a DNA 20 chip and a Lipo 3.7v 2000mAh battery DTP 605068. And I've also tried a Eleaf 18.50Wh battery I snaked from a working vaporizer.

I have tried using 20 gage stranded core wire and 22 gage solid core wire both which according to the spec sheet for a DNA 20 chip should be fine. Also I'm using a standard 5 10 connector.

The issue I'm having is after I have everything wired, I can get all the buttons to work, and the charger port to work, but when I hit the fire button I keep getting a message on the display "Check Atomizer". I have used several different atomizers that work on other vapes, and check the connections several times from the board to the connector. I've even used 3 different connectors. All getting the same message.

I asked some buddies of mine that actually do wiring and they say my connections look clean.

I do hear a faint clicking noise coming from the atomizer when I hit the fire button, which leads me to believe that there is somewhat of a connection.

I'm kind of at a loss as to what to try next.

Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!!

gbalkam

Gold Contributor
Member For 4 Years
ECF Refugee
Reddit Exile
I would suggest you study more about electronics and wiring in general.
The mod is not reading the atomizer at all, so it seems your wiring is bad. Could be a cold solder on the 510 pin + or _ or anywhere else. The clicking is the chip trying to read the atomizer.
What concerns me, is with mods being so inexpensive, and you admitting a lack of knowledge, why would you tinker together a device that could potentially blow up in your sons face?

jwill

The Great King of Nothing
VU Donator
Platinum Contributor
Member For 2 Years
VU Challenge Team
Reddit Exile
VU SWAT