Become a Patron!

New to DIY Juice, questions re: mixing by weight vs volume

VinnySem

Silver Contributor
Silver Contributor
Member For 4 Years
Hey gang, I'm looking into DIY e-juice, been reading some articles & posts, and I have some questions about mixing by weight vs volume, as that will determine the equipment I buy (0.001 gram scale, etc). Let me preface my questions by saying that I have a lot of years of past experience mixing chemicals by weight; in a former profession I worked as a perfumer and QC analyst at a fragrance manufacturing company, I'm familiar with chemical mixing practices and procedures, working from a formula, etc. However, we always mixed by weight with highly accurate professional grade 0.0001 gram sensitive scales.

With mixing by weight, and using some of the calculator tools listed on this site and others, that take into account specific gravity of the ingredients, wouldn't mixing by weight with a good scale and a calculator software, be as accurate (or even more so) than by volume with a syringe? Or is the main reason that I see lots of DIY'ers mixing by volume is that syringes cost significantly less than a highly accurate high precision scale and can be washed out & re-used?

Also, I've seen posts saying "don't get a DIY starter kit" but this kit is pretty reasonably priced and includes a lot of stuff to get up & running (note: I wouldn't get the flavor packs they list, looking at FA flavors and using some of HIC's recipes posted here).
http://www.myfreedomsmokes.com/nico...-flasks-cylinders/diy-mixing-starter-kit.html

Thanks for the insight!

AmandaD

Platinum Contributor
Member For 4 Years
I think most people start DIY with syringes because they're what most people seem to use. Many of us here use an inexpensive ($15) scale from Amazon that measures 0.01, and that seems to do the job just fine!

SailCat

Silver Contributor
Member For 5 Years
Welcome to the VU forum, VinnySem! :)