Become a Patron!

New to vaping with Snow Wolf mod

New to the forums here and also new to vaping. I quit smoking as my new years resolution and decided to take up vaping. I bought myself an Ego one mega starter kit and had nothing but problems with it. I had constant leakage out of my air intake and I was getting constant dry hits out of it. The few days it was working well, I knew I would be able to stick with vaping as an alternative to smoking and as a hobby, but I am still learning. It may have been a problem with the way I set it up, but my new setup has been fine and I set it up the same way.

I just bought myself a 200w TC Snow Wolf box mod and a Uwell Crown sub ohm tank. Maybe not the best setup for a beginner, but I wanted to make the investment and get what I would eventually want early.

I have some questions I was hoping I could get some help with. My tank came preinstalled with .25 ohm coils and I can't get a hit lasting for more than a second without my drip tip burning my lips and the vapor burning my throat. I have tried different wattages between 25 and 90, and although a notice a difference in flavor, I can't take that burn away. I am using 6 mg juice. Would I be better off using coils with a higher resistance to take away the burn? The tank came with a .5 coil and a nickel tc control .15 coil. What would the differences be in using those coils instead?

JERUS

Gold Contributor
Member For 4 Years
Member For 3 Years
Member For 2 Years
Member For 1 Year
Don't use Nickel/Titanium (Ni/Ti) coils unless you're using Temp Control on your mod, it simply won't work they heat up too fast (note Stainless Steel also heats up very fast but if you set it up properly you can still use it in power settings, I do exclusively). Thing is with that lower resistance plus the stainless it can be quite a bit of heat. However I know people use that so I wouldn't say you can't do it, just perhaps looking into the .5Ω coil might be worthwhile.