Become a Patron!

Newbie here. Ohms law

Suz_Toy

Member For 1 Year
Ive heard about it and all but I still don’t get it. Can anyone just break it down for me? I got the demon killer 48 pc 8in1 to go with my pulse rda kit with a 18650 battery. Using dual coils will cut the ohms in half. Single coil is as stated on the container? What coil/coils can I use? Are all safe to run single/dual?

therinrik

Member For 1 Year
Ok, so Ohm's law is just one equation. V = I * R. MAKE SURE TO USE THE CONTINUOUS DISCHARGE VALUE FOR AMPERAGE //NOT// PULSE

Here, V is your voltage, which is usually printed on your battery. That number is your voltage at a full charge. It's usually 4.2 V, but you should look up Mooch's battery reviews to be safe. I is your current in amperes. The manufacturer of your battery also posts amp tolerances online, which is just a measure of how much electricity can safely flow through the cell at once (gross oversimplification). R is your resistance in ohms.

So, all you have to do to know if your battery is safe is to take your two known values (peak voltage of the battery and resistance of the coil) and plug them into the equation. Solving for I in this situation gives you the amount of electricity drawn by the circuit from one end of the battery to the other. If I is lower than your tolerance, you're safe.

Example: My batteries have a peak voltage of 4.2 volts and an amp tolerance of 20 amps under continuous discharge. Given this, and two coils of .66 ohms each (for a combined resistance of .36 ohms), we can substitute these values into the equation like this

4.2 = I * 0.36
Solving for I gives I = 4.2 / 0.36
which equals out to I = 11.6667 amps, which is well within the safe range of my battery. In fact, you might say it's a little lacking in power.

To get your wattage, W = A * V (amps times volts). Using my mod as an example again, I would have 4.2V * 11.66667A = 49W