Become a Patron!

Nichrome n80 coils reading ohms to low

Chicoco1

Member For 2 Years
Member For 1 Year
Hi i just put quad coils nichrome n80 6 wraps each in my 454 big block rda and i cant get them to work, in my epitite dna 60 it fires for a sec or 2 and then says ohms to low, and the in my kaos spectrum it wont fire at all it just says low resistance, on my ohm reader it says 0.04 and the wont fire at all either, pls help im pretty new to building my own coils, i have 2 454 big blocks and the other has ss 316 fused claptons and works fine i just cant figure out what the problem is. Thanks for any and all helpbin advance

David Wolf

Silver Contributor
Member For 2 Years
Member For 1 Year
ECF Refugee
Anyone vaping below 0.1 ohm coils goes on my list of Darwin Award candidates... there is simply no good reason to and plenty reasons not to.

Chicoco1

Member For 2 Years
Member For 1 Year
The only problem is with 4 coils i cant really add too many more wraps, i can try i guess i wont hurt, but its gonna be super tight in there

SirRichardRear

AKA Anthony Vapes on Youtube
VU Donator
Diamond Contributor
Member For 3 Years
Reviewer
The only problem is with 4 coils i cant really add too many more wraps, i can try i guess i wont hurt, but its gonna be super tight in there
use 2 coils with 12 wraps each. it'll be the same as using 4 at 6 wraps each but give you double the resistance. also .04 sounds like a short. using 6 wrap quad coil ni80 should be around .13 to .16 depending on gauge. to me it sounds like a short somewhere

Anyone vaping below 0.1 ohm coils goes on my list of Darwin Award candidates... there is simply no good reason to and plenty reasons not to.
while it's true there is no need especially on a regulated mod, it's not unsafe at all on a regulated mod. it will however hamper the mods ability to put out wattage as it'll hit the amp limit at fairly low watts

David Wolf

Silver Contributor
Member For 2 Years
Member For 1 Year
ECF Refugee