Become a Patron!

No glow when firing new coil

SavantCS

Member For 2 Years
Member For 1 Year
So I'm new to building coils and this is my first time with an RTA. I'm using the Vaporesso Revenger kit with a Zeus RTA (single coil). So I went ahead and built a parallel coil (I was recommended to do so by the guy from the vape shop where I bought it) and wicked it up before testing for hot spots. That gave close to no vapor and an instant dry hit so I started over following a YouTube tutorial and realized I forgot to check for hot spots and so on my second attempt I did and it wasn't glowing at all. The build came to 0.25Ohm (which dropped down to 0.21Ohm when firing). Not quite sure what I did wrong here.

Thanks for the help in advance,
SavantCS

EDIT: Perhaps some more info would help: I'm using Kanthal A1 24 gauge wire for the parallel coil and wound it around a 3mm bit 5 times.

Last edited:

jwill

The Great King of Nothing
VU Donator
Platinum Contributor
Member For 2 Years
VU Challenge Team
Reddit Exile
VU SWAT
You should start with a simple single coil and remove all elements of complexity for a first build. Knowing wire info and pics would remove a lot of guess work.

SavantCS

Member For 2 Years
Member For 1 Year
You should start with a simple single coil and remove all elements of complexity for a first build. Knowing wire info and pics would remove a lot of guess work.
Thanks, went ahead and edited the post to include info about the wire. I'm guessing you're right that I should start out with a single coil but I'd still like to know why it's failing since I'm likely to have this issue even after doing a single.

Pictures (excuse the quality, I'm no photographer):
No clue why they decided to rotate themselves the original pictures were standing up.
1c84467074.jpg

286059245e.jpg

43732cf214.jpg

zephyr

Dirty Pirate Meg
VU Donator
Gold Contributor
Member For 4 Years
Unlisted Vendor