Become a Patron!

Please help.. Coil caught fire!

DODoubleG

Member For 1 Year
Heya fellas, I am new here, but I have a very big problem..

So, I have a mech mod for 3 days now and everything was okay till today. I will tell a little background.

As you understood , I am a beginner in mech mod/building sphere and heres what happened.

So, a couple days ago, I built a deck ,wicked everything. Everything was fine, I was vaping and I was enjoying it very much. Though, when building, I noticed that only the center of my coils are getting red while firing. I ignored it.. And moreover, it was a hard time for me to build everything.. so I understood that my build is shitty, but I thought it will work.

Today, I vaped, everything was fine, I tested my new liquid and so on. So, I was vaping at home, it seemed fine and I put it down for couple of mins, when I picked it next and pressed the button nothing was happening.. I pressed again and again, some vape came out and SUDDENLY LIKE A LIGHTNING FROM A CLEAR sky a fire started in one of my coils.. I was so scared so I put the fire out and now I put the mech away. I am scared to touch it..Thats it..

Some important points:

- The wicks had enough liquid in them. They weren't dry .
- I use Clapton dual coils( total resistance 0.31 ohms)
- My battery is Sony vtc5
- I am familiar with ohms law
- None of the coils were touching the base

Now some of my friends told me that it might be because of my build (maybe some coils lost the contact and shorted out)

Please tell this shit's aint about the battery, because I won't use the mod , because I dont want that the battery would explode in my face .

Last edited:

The Cromwell

I am a BOT
VU Donator
Diamond Contributor
Member For 4 Years
Coil end loose in the post?
Short?

If a mech does not fire when it should, do NOT keep trying to fire it because it may be shorted and a venting event can occur and blow the atty off into your face and spew 1000 deg fire at ya.